Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 3, 2013/ 25 Tamuz, 5773

Beyond Orwell: What are the bounds of Obama's spying?

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | No citizen is immune to the ceaseless dragnet surveillance by Barack Obama's administration.

Among the revelations of the president's boundless surveillance, which also includes reporters' phone records, is this report on how We The People thereby lose access to breaking news affecting our lives:

"Associated Press president Gary Pruitt ... slammed the Department of Justice for acting as 'judge, jury and executioner' in the seizure of the news organization's phone records and he said some of the wire service's longtime sources have clammed up in fear" ("AP boss: Sources won't talk anymore," Mackenzie Weinger, politico.com, June 19).

Pruitt, whose speech at the National Press Club was covered by Politico's Weinger, said "the chilling effect is not just at AP, it's happening at other news organizations as well. Journalists from other news organizations have personally told me it has intimidated sources from speaking to them.

"Now, the government may love this. I suspect they do. But beware the government that loves secrecy too much."

Meanwhile, more attention is being paid here to increasing anger among our European allies to the scope and depth of Obama's spying as revealed by Edward Snowden to Glenn Greenwald in The Guardian.

For example, Agence France-Presse recently reported: "The EU has warned President Barack Obama's administration of 'grave adverse consequences' to the rights of European citizens from a huge U.S. Internet surveillance programme, officials said" ("EU warns U.S. of 'grave consequences' from intel scandal," June 12).

The EU's justice commissioner, Viviane Reding, had written to Attorney General Eric Holder, AFP reported, requesting "'swift and concrete' answers about the spy scheme."

Basing her concerns on Snowden's exposures in The Guardian, she sharply challenged Holder (almost certainly to no avail), writing:

"Programmes such as PRISM and the laws on the basis of which such programmes are authorised could have grave adverse consequences for the fundamental rights of EU citizens."

Furthermore, AFP reported, Reding asked Holder "whether EU citizens ... targeted by the U.S. programmes ... would be able to find out whether their data has been accessed, and whether they would be treated similarly to U.S. nationals in such cases."

And dig this: In view of Holder's chronic non-transparency to such questions, AFP reported that "the EU official also warned that the European Parliament 'is likely to assess the overall transatlantic relationship also in the light of your responses.'"

But Obama characterizes these incidents of spying as just "modest encroachments on privacy."

We Americans know how scarily "modest" they are.

Our next president of whatever party is going to have a lot of explaining to do when dealing with European citizens' abhorrence of being secretly classified in such American databases as those of the National Security Agency and the FBI.

As for members of the media and advocates of civil liberties, more of them are trying to pierce Obama and Holder's spy operations by engaging in powerfully detailed lawsuits over constitutional abuses by the administration, as I'll detail next week.

On June 10, the Obama administration was targeted full-scale, according to the Electronic Frontier Foundation: "A bipartisan coalition of 86 civil liberties organizations and Internet companies -- including the Electronic Frontier Foundation, reddit, Mozilla, FreedomWorks and the American Civil Liberties Union -- are demanding swift action from Congress in light of the recent revelations about unchecked domestic surveillance" ("86 Civil Liberties Groups and Internet Companies Demand an End to NSA Spying," Rainey Reitman, eff.org).

In their open letter to all members of Congress, these 86 angry patriotic organizations resounded: "This type of blanket data collection by the government strikes at bedrock American values of freedom and privacy. This dragnet surveillance violates the First and Fourth Amendments of the U.S. Constitution, which protect citizens' right to speak and associate anonymously and guard against unreasonable searches and seizures."

The cost of another president leading us as a nation under ever more surveillance will be a future 9/11 in which the terrorists will have won -- even before all the corpses they amass are counted.

Bear in mind that a majority of us re-elected Obama, our lead betrayer. Shall we continue betraying ourselves?

As for Edward Snowden, the man who helped cause this large-scale awakening of the media, he is afraid. Not of his fate, but that authorities "will come after my family, my friends, my partner," he said. "Anyone I have a relationship with ... I have to live with that for the rest of my life" ("Edward Snowden, NSA files source: 'If they want to get you, in time they will,'" Ewen MacAskill, guardian.co.uk, June 9).

Do you agree that this should be his reward for telling the truth?

Next week: More Congressional rebellions that should lead all presidential aspirants of both parties to tell us clearly and specifically what each of them will do to overturn Obama's betrayal of our Constitution.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2013, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast