Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 16, 2010 / 4 Tamuz 5770

President cons us into accepting Obamacare?

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Alarmed by the continuing angry and fearful distrust of Obamacare by more than half the electorate (rasmussenreports.com, June 7), the president has assembled a team of loyalists, including -- the June 7 New York Times reports -- "a new tax-exempt group that will spend millions of dollars" in advertisements extolling Obamacare to save incumbent Democrats from defeat in the midterm elections.

Among his allies are labor unions and two groups I used to respect, Families USA and the AARP. And I have seen two frightening full-page ads in The New York Times by the American Medical Association condemning the Senate for going on vacation "without fixing a scheduled 21 percent cut to Medicare payments to doctors. … A cut that threatens to deprive millions of seniors and military families access to doctors they depend on."

These expensive ads did not mention that the AMA supports Obamacare. Nor, of course, does it speak of the inevitable rationing of health care now that Obama has appointed as head of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), Dr. Donald Berwick, a rapturous supporter of Britain's National Health Care Service, which is so bureaucratically intent on cost-effectiveness that -- as health care expert Michael Tanner of the Cato Institute demonstrates:

"The United Kingdom government has effectively put a dollar amount to how much a citizen's life is worth. To be exact, each year of added life is worth approximately $44,305 (30,000 British pounds)" (The Daily Caller, May 27). The rationing of lives also includes citizens of any age whose cost of survival is more than the government is willing to spend.

In all the ads you'll be seeing from now on heralding the wondrous rewards of Obamacare, any reference to the dread word, "rationing," will be impossible to find. With rigorous face-saving logic, the president begun this campaign to protect Democratic candidates in the midterm elections by focusing his oratorical skills on June 8 at -- as The New York Times reported the next day -- "a center for older Americans in Wheaton, Md., where he took questions from the audience and by telephone from around the country ... a public relations blitz by the White House and its allies, aimed especially at the elderly, who tend to turn out heavily in elections and are among the most skeptical of the bill."

Obama adds cash to his soothing words. Already, The New York Times adds, about 80,000 checks for $250 have been sent -- from the 4 million checks to arrive this year -- to the elderly as a rebate to help them pay for prescription drugs. Also, he told his audience of citizens with many years of life, so far, in Wheaton, Maryland: "By 2020 this law (Obamacare) will close the doughnut hole" (in prescription drug coverage) completely."

I expect that before then, Berwick and the cost-efficient 160 boards and health agencies under government control will have begun to design and implement the impersonal rules of health care rationing. This being so falsely "transparent" an administration, we are not likely to find out what the costs of each year, as we age, will be permitted by the Obama administration.

There are Americans -- like me, having reached 85 in June -- who are not going to be won over by the Obamacare-is-good-for-you blitz. Neither is the National Right to Life, with its very active chapters in all 50 states. On June 26, at its 2010 Annual Convention in Pittsburgh, there will be a comprehensive, incisive probe of Obamacare: "2000 Pages Plus of Really Bad Stuff." I will be reporting on their disclosures in future columns.

To illustrate the concern about Obamacare among Americans -- not only to the elderly -- I bring into the conversation Philip V. Brennan, an 83-year-old journalist, former Washington columnist for the National Review, and a member of the Associations of Former Intelligence Officers. In "Death by Obamacare" (canadafresspress.com, June 8), he begins by telling of a heart attack the week before in the United States. He was quickly admitted to the hospital. He had "a bunch of costly diagnostic tests ... given the best up-to-date care available ... I was there for three days, carefully monitored ... I shudder to think what all this excellent care would cost me if it weren't for my insurance coverage, part of which included government-funded Medicare."

So, Mr. Brennan notes, "It occurs to me that someone else might be writing my column -- more appropriately my obituary -- if Obamacare were in effect now instead of four years hence." He continues with a deeply cautionary scenario that I think will resonate and stay with readers who have a certain family medical history:

"Given the power to decide the extent of care that may be made available to a patient of certain age -- along with the rationing of health care that is inevitable in a government-run medical system, an 83-year-old patient, such as me with an extraordinary four-generation family history of male cardiac problems, just how much extensive therapy would be justified?"

As I've previously reported, a similar question was asked of President Obama during an ABC-TV program (June 24, 2009) on Obamacare. A woman told Obama that her 100-year-old mother, five years ago, had been refused by her cardiologist to insert a pacemaker. But another specialist, noting her "joy of life," performed the procedure. Would her mother have been given similar care under Obamacare?

The president of the United States pondered the question briefly, and answered: "maybe (she would be) better off not having the surgery and taking a pain killer."

When I was a kid, firemen, doubling as emergency care providers, rushed into my home and removed my father, who had had a sudden heart attack. I knew, though this was during the Depression, he would get very good care. And he did. A traveling salesman, he went back on the road. My father told me later there had indeed been a family history of heart trouble. Barack Obama wasn't even born when the firemen saved my father. My dad was lucky.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles