Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 12, 2013/ 4 Tammuz, 5773

Obama tracking whatever you say and do. You're Americans?

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My Jewish parents had changed their lives -- inner and outer -- by coming to America. When their son was old enough to go to school, they were determined not to send him to the prestigious Hebrew school on the street next to where they lived in Boston.

No, the boy was to be more fully Americanized by taking a sizable walk to the William Lloyd Garrison public elementary school in the neighborhood.

They are no longer here, but I can imagine their hurt had they read this on the front page of the June 7 Wall Street Journal: "The National Security Agency's monitoring of Americans includes customer records from the three major phone networks as well as emails and Web searches, and the agency also has cataloged credit-card transactions" ("U.S. Collects Vast Data Trove," Siobhan Gorman, Evan Perez and Janet Hook).

I would also have shown them a startling story by U.S. reporter and constitutional lawyer Glenn Greenwald, who covers American civil liberties et al, for the British newspaper The Guardian. He found a top-secret Obama program run by the NSA that had direct access to the Internet systems of "Google, Facebook, Apple and other U.S. Internet giants" ("NSA Prism program taps in to user data of Apple, Google and others," Greenwald and Ewen MacAskill, June 6).

Included are huge quantities of personal information about us, such as "search history, the content of emails, file transfers and live chats."

The program is called PRISM.

Were they here, my parents might have asked, "What happened to America?"

"His name," I would tell them, "is Barack Obama."

Greenwald, also my Facebook friend, and MacAskill add that PRISM "facilitates extensive, in-depth surveillance on live communications and stored information. The law allows for the targeting of any customers of participating firms who live outside the U.S., or those Americans whose communications include people outside the U.S."

And, of course, "it also opens the possibility of communications made entirely within the U.S. being collected without warrants."

So you, readers, will know more about your ever-closer companion, PRISM. Barton Gellman and Laura Poitras write that "according to the slides and other supporting materials obtained by The (Washington) Post, 'NSA reporting increasingly relies on (the gigantic) PRISM' as its leading source of raw material, accounting for nearly 1 in 7 intelligence reports" ("U.S., British intelligence mining data from nine U.S. Internet companies in broad secret program," Gellman and Poitras, The Washington Post, June 6).

And, as our re-elected president has become the rule of law, that 1 in 7 number "is a remarkable figure in an agency that measures annual intake in the trillions of communications."

Oh, multiple news outlets have reported that "government officials declined to comment."

Very seldom am I part of a story I'm reporting on, but I may be one of the eventual "persons of interest" after reading this in Greenwald and MacAskill's report: "Disclosure of the PRISM program follows a leak to The Guardian ... of a top-secret court order compelling telecoms provider Verizon to turn over the telephone records of millions of U.S. customers."

Despite the huge volume of calls, it does appear that every one is being monitored. Since my phone calls have long been transmitted by Verizon, this makes me uneasy.

Citing Greenwald's reporting in The Guardian, Stephen Rex Brown writes in the New York Daily News that the court order "requires the carrier to hand over information regarding phone calls -- which does not include actual conversations (as if we actually believe that) -- on an 'ongoing, daily basis' to the FBI" ("Verizon is giving the feds phone records for all of its U.S. customers: report," Brown, New York Daily News, June 6).

Gee, the FBI has known my phone numbers well since the J. Edgar Hoover era. I'll never know, but I guess they'll find my suspicious "patterns" now on Verizon.

Under the court order, "the information is classed as 'metadata,' or transactional information, rather than communications, and so does not require individual warrants to access" ("NSA collecting phone records of millions of Verizon customers daily," Greenwald, The Guardian, June 5).

Furthermore, the Verizon court order is covered by "the so-called 'business records' provision of the Patriot Act ... That is the provision which (Sen. Ron) Wyden and (Sen. Mark) Udall have repeatedly cited when warning the public of what they believe is the Obama administration's extreme interpretation of the law to engage in excessive domestic surveillance."

Through the Freedom of Information Act, I have part of my FBI record, with decidedly negative comments on what I'd written about the long distances between the Patriot Act and the Constitution.

So what of those of either party who intend to hold on to our American identities against Obama? I suggest that we press those members of Congress who individually represent us to join Republican Sen. Rand Paul's introduction of the "Fourth Amendment Restoration Act of 2013," which, according to his Senate website, "ensures the constitutional protections of the Fourth Amendment are not violated by any government entity."

No matter, I would add, who the president is.

"The bill," says Paul, "restores our constitutional rights and declares that the Fourth Amendment shall not be construed to allow any agency of the United States government to search the phone records of Americans without a warrant based on probable cause" (www.paul.senate.gov).

Here, too, I would expand the act to protect more than just our phone records.

So the senator has introduced the legislation. But how many of you are outraged enough to do anything about what Obama is doing to you -- besides spreading the word about Paul's bill? If so, please let me know what that will be.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2013, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast