Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 25, 2011 / 21 Iyar, 5771

Federal courts vs. our privacy at home

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Before the American Revolution, when we were King George III's colonists, his customs officers and soldiers, writing general warrants (writes of assistance) all by themselves, barged into offices and private homes in dragnet searches.

"Our houses and even our bed chambers," reported enraged Bostonians, "are exposed to be ransacked, our boxes, chests and trunks broke open, ravaged. … Flagrant instances of the wanton exercise of this power have frequently happened in this and other seaport towns.

"By this we are cut off from that domestic security which renders the lives of the most unhappy in some measure agreeable." (Linda Monk, "The Bill of Rights: A User's Guide" (Close Up Publishing)

This regal contempt for these new Americans was one of the most precipitating causes of the American Revolution -- and for the inclusion of the Fourth Amendment in the Constitution's Bill of Rights:

"The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no warrants (by judges) shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized."

Our Founders, whatever the differences among them, would be enraged by a May 15, 2011, decision (Barnes v. State of Indiana) by the Indiana Supreme Court. In a 3-to-2 ruling, Justice Steven David ruled that "police can enter private homes without exception."

Wait! That's nowhere in the Fourth Amendment. Justice Steven David, ruling nonetheless for the court, stated "if a police officer wants to enter a home for any or even for no reason."(www.webnewsjax.com/indiana-supreme-court-ruling-police-can-enter-private-homes-with-out-exception).

What caused this home invasion? Richard Barnes was reportedly having a domestic dispute with his wife. The police asked if they could enter, but Barnes refused, blocking the doorway. The police rammed in anyway, and then "the husband shoved the officer against the wall. A second officer then used a stun gun on the husband and arrested him." Make note of this: "There were no charges regarding domestic violence." Why did the cops break in when refused admittance? The clear legal answer from blogger David Drum ("Barnes v. State of Indiana, 2011), jonathanturley.org, May 15, 2011: "Once the officers saw that there was no domestic violence, only a domestic dispute, they had no grounds for remaining on the scene."

Washington-based Jonathan Turley is a constitution lawyer with whom I often consult. Justice David scoffed at such pettifogging. The search was unreasonable and so unlawful; but he said, resisting forceful police demanding entry "is against public policy and is incompatible with modern Fourth Amendment jurisprudence."

That part of the Bill of Rights is old hat?

Web News Jax was alarmed (May 19): "Not only is this attempt to rewrite the Forth amendment, this will set a precedence for other draconian courts to do the same." Not only courts. "Indiana Sheriff says he will conduct random house-to-house searches if he damn well feels like it after this ruling. (jonathanturley.org)

But, startling as it is, this is only a scary judgment by the Supreme Court of a single state.

However, how concerned would you be if the U.S. Supreme Court turned the Fourth Amendment upside down? Our highest court has recently done just that, with only limited media attention that lasted a couple of days -- except for some angry, shocked bloggers.

How many Americans even know what's in the Fourth Amendment -- let alone why and where it came from as it ignited our self-liberation from England?

On May 16, 2011, many police -- local, state and FBI -- were heartened to learn from the Supreme Court -- as Adam Liptak reported in the New York Times -- that "The police do not need a warrant to enter a home if they smell burning marijuana, knock loudly, announce themselves and hear what they think is the sound of evidence being destroyed" -- in Kentucky v. King. Justice Samuel Alito, writing for the majority of the court, delivered the decision.

This was an 8-to-1 decision! The case was described fairly up to a point by Liptak -- customarily a superior reporter on legal matters whom I often quote. But the daring lone dissenter, Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg -- as I shall demonstrate in next week's column -- probed the dangerous significance of this ruling more searchingly and troublingly. She said:

"The court today arms the police with a way routinely to dishonor the Fourth Amendment's warrant requirement in drug cases. In lieu of presenting their evidence to a neutral magistrate, police officers may now knock, listen, then break the door down, never mind that they had ample time to obtain a warrant."

How many of you have heard of this decision -- particularly including Justice Ginsburg's piercing dissent? Increasingly, much of what happens at the Supreme Court in cases that may change the lives of many Americans -- is not reported fully, in depth and lucidly.

And since the Supreme Court rigidly refuses to allow TV cameras into an oral argument to show who these super-powerful justices are -- their temperaments, how they think and react to lawyers arguments on both sides -- the huge majority of us would not recognize most of the august nine justice if they were all packed into the same elevator.

Yet these nine are the ultimate guardians of the supreme law of our land. And though the majority has sent this case back to the Kentucky Supreme Court to reconsider the definition of "exigent," it won't work. I have read the Kentucky Supreme Court decision. In any case, Alito says his ruling will stand. So police now have unprecedented power to unreasonably and unconstitutionally invade our most vital remaining privacy -- at home. Two FBI agents once tried to search my office, without a warrant. I'm not a lawyer but I know my Fourth Amendment rights. I sent them away and never heard from them again. J. Edgar Hoover was displeased I wrote about the failed visit. More next week.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles