Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 30, 2014 / 30 Nissan, 5774

Military judge orders CIA to list 'black sites' and other torture info

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | As first reported by the Miami Herald's Carol Rosenberg on April 17, during a pretrial hearing of a Guantanamo prisoner previously held at a series of CIA secret prisons, judge Army Col. James Pohl ordered the agency to provide the long-concealed "names of agents, interrogators and medical personnel who worked at the so-called black sites" ("Guantanamo judge to CIA: Disclose 'black site' details to USS Cole defense lawyers," Carol Rosenberg, Miami Herald, April 17).

Furthermore, the judge demanded that prosecutors give the defense lawyers such "closely guarded classified CIA information" as "'locations, personnel and communications,' interrogation notes and cables between the black sites and headquarters that sought and approved so-called enhanced interrogation techniques."

Rosenberg has covered Gitmo and American torture for years, unlike many members of the media. But other reporters here and abroad, including me, have documented some of this CIA torture from our research.

I urge the media to stay on this story of military Judge Pohl's order to the CIA as the Obama administration tries to bury it -- including the renditions by which the CIA brought suspects to be interrogated at places other than the supposedly discontinued black sites. Obama has retained these classified renditions.

What Pohl has ignited should become a historic issue in the 2016 presidential and congressional elections -- all the more because, as Rosenberg makes clear, the judge did not "order the government to turn over Office of Legal Counsel memos (from the George W. Bush administration) that both blessed and defined the so-called Torture Program that sent CIA captives to secret interrogations across the world after the Sept. 11, 2001, attacks -- out of reach of International Committee of the Red Cross delegates."

It was also out of reach of the Constitution and international treaties we signed.



This Guantanamo ferment may be our chance to begin to cleanse what I have previously described as "our worldwide shame of having become a torture nation. As we condemn other nations' crimes against their citizens -- Syria, Libya, Zimbabwe, et al -- our government makes it easier for those countries to escape accountability by utterly denying our own complicity in the cruel, inhumane, degrading torture that has given terrorists around the world so valuable a means for recruiting more terrorists" (my column, "Obama Bans War Criminals, but Not Our Own," Aug. 17, 2011).

But before we go deeper into how to begin cleansing our history of torture, let's focus on military Judge Pohl's Guantanamo case, which has begun to seriously break through Barack Obama's rocklike determination to "look forward, not backward" on what preceded his presidency.

The trial of Abd al Rahim al-Nashiri, the suspect in the 2000 USS Cole bombing near the Yemeni coast, is set to begin at Guantanamo in December.

Common Dreams' Lauren McCauley writes, citing an Associated Press report, that al-Nashiri's defense team "argued during pretrial motions at the Cuban prison that the Guantanamo detainee's time spent in secret CIA prisons -- during which he was waterboarded and threatened with a gun and a power drill -- has 'tainted' his testimony, and thus the case against him" ("Judge Orders Disclosure of CIA Torture at 'Black Sites,'" Lauren McCauley, commondreams.org, April 22).

Ah, but the United States' rules for military commissions prevent using any classified evidence or testimony obtained by coercion or torture. This elementary due process was barred at Guantanamo -- until Pohl said otherwise.

Unimpressed and undeterred by Bush's and, now, Obama's rules, al-Nashiri's defense lawyers insist that revealing what happened to their client at CIA black sites for all those years "could be used to spare him from the death penalty" ("Govt Must Turn Over Info on CIA Prisons to Defense," Deb Riechmann, The Associated Press, April 22).

It's utterly clear that our legal system at Guantanamo has continued to avoid any real-life involvement with our rule of law and our cherished "values." However, Andrea Prasow of Human Rights Watch, which continues to illuminate this shame, tells The Guardian that the judge's order "represents a chink in the armor of secrecy that the U.S. government erected around its torture program" ("Guantanamo trial judge orders CIA to account for treatment of detainee," Spencer Ackerman, The Guardian, April 17).

Citing the Senate Intelligence Committee's report on the CIA's torture methods, which is still going to be first reviewed by the agency, Prasow says: "It is only a matter of time before the public will learn the horrific details of officially sanctioned torture, and the pattern of lies designed not only to allow torture to continue, but to immunize torturers from prosecution."

But how much time?

Through my discoveries and those of such ceaseless researchers as The New Yorker's Jane Mayer, I'll have more in future columns on how to get the public to act.

Mayer, whose work I have cited previously, was once told by a former CIA officer involved in these acts of barbarous torture: "When you cross over that line of darkness, it's hard to come back. You lose your soul. You can do your best to justify it, but ... you can't go to that dark a place without it changing you" ("The Black Sites: A Rare Look Inside the CIA's Secret interrogation Program," Jane Mayer, The New Yorker, Aug. 13, 2007).

To what extent has our acceptance of torture changed us, and how will it affect future generations of Americans? We ignore the continuing fact that not one of these American torturers -- in "dark sites" and elsewhere -- has ever been punished, including those Americans at the highest reaches of our government who have actively not only authorized but encouraged torture.

Once, I was in a debate at Princeton University with John Yoo, who, while working at the Justice Department during the Bush administration, wrote the "torture memos" that gave Bush and Dick Cheney the legal power to torture. I let him have it -- giving him the names of torture victims and places where these acts of torture occurred!

He just smiled to the rest of the panel and said, "I enjoy reading Nat Hentoff on jazz."

For years, Yoo, now a law professor at the University of California, has been a media pundit on constitutional issues, serene in his still-unpunished contribution to American history.

What about Bush, Cheney and Obama?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2013, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast