Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 11, 2012/ 19 Nissan, 5772

We can't hide from the National Security Agency

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | How many Americans know that as of September 2013, all of us engaged in any form of communication will be subject -- with the approval of President Barack Obama and the silence of Congress -- to continuous tracking and databasing by the National Security Agency?

As I reported here last week, the NSA's massive new center in Bluffdale, Utah -- more than five times larger than the U.S. Capitol -- will be storing and analyzing:

"All forms of communication, including the complete contents of private emails, cellphone calls and Google searches, as well as all sorts of personal data trails -- parking receipts, travel itineraries, bookstore purchases ..." ("The NSA Is Building the Country's Biggest Spy Center (Watch What You Say)," James Bamford, wired.com, March 15).

Are you at all concerned? Note that this bottomless database is deceptively called the Utah Data Center (UDC), as if it were a minor league state agency. But journalist-historian James Bamford, as he has done in previous reports and books, breaks into the NSA's deep secrecy.

Dig this: "The mammoth Bluffdale center will have another important and far more secret role that until now has gone unrevealed."

Citing a senior intelligence official formerly involved in this endless spying, Bamford reports that the NSA is now also expert in breaking codes.

"And code-breaking is crucial," he writes, "because much of the data that the center will handle -- financial information, stock transactions, business deals, foreign military and diplomatic secrets, legal documents, confidential personal communications -- will be heavily encrypted."

These are, reports Bamford, "unfathomably complex encryption systems employed by not only governments around the world but also (pay attention) many average computer users in the U.S."

Bamford is not exaggerating when he quotes another official, who says, "Everybody's a target; everybody with communication is a target."

I've already asked if any of you are at all worried about inexorably losing what's left of your privacy outside of our rule of law. You won't be able to go to a judge to get the government to justify how it now suspects you of being associated with an enemy of the U.S. or some other evildoer.

And where are the protests of those in Congress and around the country as James Bamford demonstrates that "there is no doubt that (the NSA) has transformed itself into the largest, most covert, and potentially most intrusive intelligence agency ever created"?

There's more: "For the first time since Watergate and the other scandals of the Nixon administration, the NSA has turned its surveillance apparatus on the U.S. and its citizens."

We now live in a country -- the former land of the free and the home of the brave -- where the NSA "has established listening posts throughout the nation to collect and sift through billions of email messages and phone calls, whether they originate within the country or overseas.

"It has created a supercomputer of almost unimaginable speed to look for (suspicious) patterns and unscramble codes."

Some may pay tribute to the vaunted American creative inventiveness of the NSA as it secures unprecedented outposts of the digital age to go into the lives -- even slipping into the thoughts -- of mere citizens.

Will Republicans in power be any more protective of your Fourth Amendment national birthright "to be secure in (your) persons, houses, papers and effects against unreasonable searches and seizures" by a government that you yourselves elect to protect who we are as Americans?

What is happening to We the People? We are not yet a police state. The First Amendment is still functioning. There are organized and individual protests against failing public schools, employment discrimination, predatory landlords and tuition increases in colleges and universities.

But with the NSA burrowing ceaselessly into our once very private lives, where are the reminders of the Declaration of Independence and its indictments of King George III? Have any of you read it lately? The late Supreme Court Justice William Brennan, knowing I was on my way to tell Pennsylvania high school students stories of how we became Americans, asked me with a sigh:

"How can we get the Constitution's Bill of Rights into the lives of students?"

He forgot the equal need to also awaken their parents as to why they are Americans.

With the NSA and other government intelligence agencies reveling in ever-new digital-age inventions to get deeper and deeper into our lives and thoughts, it may not be more than a generation or two before the Constitution will be as out of date as carrier pigeons.

The late Supreme Court Justice Hugo Black once urged -- and this advice has never been as vital to our future as Americans as it is now: "If we are to ... pass on to future generations of Americans the great heritage of freedom which (the Founders) sacrificed so much to leave to us ...

"We must not be afraid to be free."

Is it too late for Americans to live and act on these words, thereby ensuring that the National Security Agency is encapsulated in a museum of extinct enemies of our freedom?

Place your bets -- and maybe get out on the streets with the Declaration of Independence to protest our vanishing privacy!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles