Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 30, 2011 / 24 Adar II, 5771

Congressional Republicans' gag rule on NPR and PBS

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | As a continuous critic of the Obama administration, I have been hoping for remediation from congressional Republicans. They've done well exposing the dangers to all of us of Obamacare's health rationing. But now, passionately involved in defunding National Public Radio and the Public Broadcasting System, they're depriving much of the citizenry of independent news reporting and analysis at a combustible national and international time.

Predictably, on March 16, the Republican-led House Rules Committee rushed this defunding bill "to the floor under a so-called closed rule, which does not allow for amendments, counter to the promise of more openness by Speaker John Boehner." (New York Times, March 17)

Despite the clamorous charges of NPR's entrenched bias favoring the left, last September's survey by the singularly reliable Pew Research Center revealed (ABC News, Feb. 15) that "45 percent of its audience identify themselves as moderate, while 29 percent identify as liberal and 22 percent as Republicans." And many more independents and libertarians.

As the New York Daily News's ace reporter on radio and all other media, David Hinckley, notes, "the House bill doesn't simply 'defund' NPR. It would change the way public radio could do business.

"Specifically, it prohibits public radio stations from using tax dollars to buy NPR programming -- which is how public radio stations get shows like 'Morning Edition' and how NPR raises much of its money." (Daily News, March 21)

Also disrupted is how PBS does its business. Especially left adrift amid the increasing cacophony of belligerent partisan cable television, blogs, et al. -- as network radio and TV news become shallower due to their commercial underfunding -- will be rural regions where many depend on public radio and television to keep them alert to how infectious global inhumanities are impacting this country and their lives.

As the Republican assault on this essential public service continues, I think of what I and my children, through the years, have learned from PBS and NPR, including what's missing from most public schools -- our own history:

Such as Ken Burns' documentaries that spent many hours giving us the flavor, texture and perspective of our own Civil War; a multi-part, much needed dramatic reassessment of John Adam's pivotal role in our history; and such other deeply absorbing educational programming as the very origins of human life. Even when our economy was flourishing, where was any of that to be seen substantively, if at all, on commercial television?

Currently, although I cover many of the issues and influential personages on "Frontline," I keep learning more about them on this searching program, which, last year, received an "Outstanding Achievement Award" from the international forum, History Makers, for "setting the standard for serious investigate journalism for almost thirty years."

(historymakers2011.com, Oct. 29). How much of this standard do you see outside of public broadcasting now?

I've often described "Frontline" as continuing the illuminating legacy of Edward R. Murrow. Where are the present Murrows in commercial television? Ted Koppel came close when he was head of ABC-TV's "Nightline," but that program now seldom makes news from what's hitherto been left out of the news.

In "Public Broadcasting, a 'luxury' we can't do without" (Washington Post, Feb. 27), Ken Burns reminds congressional Republicans about public broadcasting's " (commercial-free) children's programming as well as the best science and nature, arts and performance, and public affairs and history programming on the dial."

I keep coming back to John Adams (long overshadowed, as he feared he would be, by Thomas Jefferson and James Madison) suddenly bursting into our history. At the time, I was speaking about the challenges and triumphs of the Constitution in schools around the country. In some, where the John Adams series was shown, the kids were excited to meet this sometimes tempestuous Founder.

Recently, as I reported in this column, I first heard from National Public Radio about President George W. Obama's Guantanamo Bay-like prisons in Illinois and Indiana, its inmates stripped of due process. Where were CBS, NBC and ABC covering it?

As if in answer, there is a book that should be taught in all journalism schools, "Salant, CBS, And The Battle For The Soul Of Broadcast Journalism: The Memoirs Of Richard S. Salant" (former head of CBS News), (Basic Books, 1999). Salant, whom I knew, was a courageous and independent force in commercially sustained broadcast news, but this is how strongly he felt about PUBLIC broadcasting:

"The issue is not whether CBS, NBC or ABC ought to be as nutritious as PBS. They cannot be. And that is why noncommercial broadcasting was created -- to do what the market forces pressing on commercial television prevent it from doing."

Salant recalled, as I do, the documentaries that used to be on CBS News: "More than any other genre, it's the documentary which has produced the most memorable landmark broadcasts of historical significance." They still do -- but on PBS.

I learned a lot as reporter and citizen from what Salant calls "the great Edward R. Murrow and Fred Friendly CBS News Documentaries." They brought down Joe McCarthy by giving him full freedom of speech on that program.

Next week: The equally legendary Fred Friendly, whom I also knew, who went on to bring, through PBS, landmark breakthroughs in our understanding of most vital issues of our time -- a series now continued by his wife, Ruth Friendly.

Fred demonstrated how much more deeply and actively informed We The People can be from truly public broadcasting, which Republicans in Congress are trying so hard to shut down and save some public money. But how much knowledge essential to the public will we lose?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles