Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 23, 2011 / 17 Adar II, 5771

I admit it: My Palestinian dreams have become nightmares

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | For years, taped to my typewriter, has been a photograph of two Jewish youngsters just arrived at Dachau. I stare into their faces and see intense, questioning fear. Soon after, brothers Israel and Zelig Jacob were hauled into the gas chamber. If my parents had been German Jews, I might have been with them.

As I write this, I look at the faces of three Jewish children — Yoav, 11, Elad, 4, and Hadas (barely 3 months old) murdered in their sleep, along with their parents, Udi and Ruth Fogel, in their home in Itamar on Israel's West Bank.

Close to midnight on Saturday, the Jewish Sabbath, the killers entered through a living room window to slash their throats. As of this writing, the suspects are alleged to be from the Palestinian village of Awarta — and members of the Al Aqsa Martyrs' Brigade, the terrorist wing of Mahmoud Abbas' "moderate" Fatah Party ("Are Israeli Settlers Human?" Wall Street Journal, March 15).

Palestinian Authority President Abbas called the murders "a despicable act" (Washington Post, March 14) and "inhuman." Israeli Primes Minister Binyamin Netanyahu was not moved — nor would I have been — by Abbas' denunciation. He charged that the Palestinian Authority had not done nearly enough to stop the "incitement" to violence against Israel in Gaza and from other Palestinian streets that have been shown on television in those homes, and shown in the textbooks and other lessons in Palestinian schools. Netanyahu asked Abbas to say in Arabic his reactions to the murders on the West Bank (Jewish Week, March 18).

I also consider a form of incitement to future murderous raid the following report (powerlineblog.com, March 13): "Gaza residents from the southern city of Rafah hit the streets Saturday to celebrate the terror attack in … Itamar. … residents handed out candy and sweets, one resident saying the joy 'is a natural response to the harm settlers inflict on the Palestinian residents in the West Bank.'"

I join the curt response to the Gaza delight in the blood-soaked bedrooms in Itamar that Bret Stephens wrote in the March 15 Wall Street Journal:

"Just what kind of society thinks it's 'natural' to slit the throats of children in their beds?"

Not only in Gaza but also in Ramallah and other Palestinian cities public squares have been named after suicide bombers as well as such other tributes as naming summer camps after suicide bombers and other assassins of Israeli Jews.

My own history with Israel began before it became a nation. In the 1930s, as a child in then endemically anti-Semitic Boston, I, with other Jewish kids, would knock on the doors of our neighbors in the Jewish ghetto to ask for donations to plant trees in the British mandate land of Palestine.

We knew that Jews lived there and believed — with the ghastly encouragement of Adolf Hitler — that there must soon be a safe homeland there for the people chosen to be the objects of the oldest continuing bigotry on Earth.

Fifty years later, in the 1980s, I was reporting in Israel for the Village Voice in New York. My sources included Palestinian nationalists; liberal Zionists; members of Israeli human rights groups critical of the government's treatment of Palestinians; and veterans of the growing Israeli Peace Now Movement that included armed forces veterans of all preceding Israeli wars. I began to hope there could eventually be what has come to be called a two-state solution. (Peace Now was against building settlements on the West Bank.)

And by 1993, back in New York, I was greatly heartened by the public signing in Washington of the Oslo Accords, the principles of interim self-government, by PLO Chairman Yasser Arafat, Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin (they later shared a Nobel Peace Prize) and President Bill Clinton. Also on board were Mahmoud Abbas for the PLO and the then Israeli Foreign Minister Shimon Peres, the latter long working for meaningful reconciliation.

But then came the Palestinian suicide bombers, murdering Israelis of all ages in restaurants, on the streets, anywhere — and lionized by so many Palestinians. Among the Palestine leaders facilitating this deadly work was Arafat.

In March of this year, the savage killings of the three Jewish children and their parents was no surprise to me, nor were the celebrations on Palestinian streets. Even if a two-state solution comes into suspicious being, I believe it will be fragile — so deep and widespread is many Palestinians' bottomless hatred of Jews. And in view of the chronic conditioning of Palestinian schoolchildren that Israelis are subhuman, how many generations will it take before other Jewish babies can sleep safely in Israel?

There is a beginning movement, particularly among Palestinian youth organizations, for Palestinian Unity between Fatah, headquartered on the West Bank, and Hamas in Gazas, (New York Times, March 15) — but will the agenda include discussion about the killing of the 3-month-old baby on the West Bank?

On the Tuesday after the instant pogrom in Itamar, Isabel Kershner of the New York Times (March 16) reported from there that "many of the residents attended a newborn's naming and circumcision. The baby was given the name Yair, which contains the Hebrew initials of four of those who were slain.

"Amid the grief, there was rejoicing at Itamar's latest addition."

I let myself dream that I might have had something to do with one or more of the trees in Itamar.

The day before, (New York Times, March 15) Israel seized a Liberian-flagged ship Benjamin Netanyahu says was carrying weapons originating in Iran on the way to Gaza, where Hamas will store them for future extermination of more of their closest neighbors.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles