Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 14, 2013/ 3 Nissan, 5773

Now Brennan globally defines U.S. torture

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I am postponing a planned column on the educational struggles of low-income kids because of Kentucky Republican Sen. Rand Paul's rousingly inspirational 13-hour filibuster last week on Barack Obama's nomination of John Brennan to become director of the CIA. This caused many Americans who do not think of themselves as libertarians to prize anew their individual self-governing constitutional rights against an overreaching government.

I'd previously written that I hoped one day to vote for Paul for president in 2016, knowing his national name recognition was so low that there would be no chance. But now, with the Constitution being reborn among more of us, this March 7 Politico headline looks more likely: "Rand Paul: 'Seriously' weighing 2016 bid."

It is important to keep in mind that the new CIA director was not the subject of Paul's magnetic 13 hours. As the senator wrote in an editorial for The Washington Times, he used the filibuster "to speak as long as it took, until an alarm was sounded from coast to coast that our Constitution is important, that our rights to trial by jury are precious, and that no American should be killed by a drone on U.S. soil without having been found guilty in a court of law" ("Rising in defense of the Constitution," Rand Paul, washingtontimes.com, March 8).

Paul's maneuver, which would have delighted James Madison, was essentially aimed at the extra-constitutional reign of President Obama. Paul thought he won an important round in that battle, but another battle remained. Brennan became the CIA director the day after the filibuster began. This officially demonstrated to the world, both our allies and our terrorist enemies, that Brennan's previous internal support of CIA torture and other brutal crimes would not prevent his promotion.

However, as Paul emphasized in the Times, "I didn't rise to oppose Mr. Brennan's nomination simply based on him as a person. I rose to defend the principles of our Constitution, principles for which we have fought long and hard."

I, on the other hand, continue to oppose Mr. Brennan as a person.

But before examining Brennan's record, I should explain what Paul requested from the Obama administration prior to his filibuster:

"When I asked the president, 'Can you kill an American on American soil?' it should have been an easy answer," Paul wrote. "It should have been a resounding and unequivocal, 'no.' But what was the president's response?

"For his first response, the president said, 'I haven't killed anyone yet, and I have no intention of killing Americans. But I might.'"

The day after Paul's filibuster started, though, Attorney General Eric Holder (surely with the approval of his boss) gave him the answer he wanted: "'Does the president have the authority to use a weaponized drone to kill an American not engaged in combat on American soil?' The answer to that question is no" ("Senate Confirms John Brennan as CIA Director," Z. Byron Wolf and Sunlen Miller, abcnews.go.com, March 7).

That did it. ABC News reported that "senators voted (on March 7) 63-34 to elevate President Obama's top counter-terrorism adviser at the White House to lead the Central Intelligence Agency after Paul ... dropped his opposition to a vote ...

"After (Holder's) letter was produced, Paul voted with 85 other senators to end debate."

The Kentucky senator, who voted against Brennan, talked about the White House's response to his drone inquiry on the Senate floor:

"It has taken awhile, but we got an explicit answer. I'm pleased that we did, and to me, I think the entire battle was worthwhile."

It certainly reminded many Americans that the Constitution has an active presence in their lives, whether they know it or not. But dig the Associated Press' account of how Brennan slyly participated in his powerful promotion:

"With Obama in attendance but media excluded (of course), Brennan took the oath from (Joe) Biden in the Roosevelt Room. Rather than swearing on a Bible, Brennan placed his hand on an original (draft) copy of the Constitution from 1787 (without the Bill of Rights) that had George Washington's handwriting and annotations on it. He told Obama he requested the document from the archives because he wanted to reaffirm his commitment to the rule of law" ("Brennan at CIA fills 3rd key national security job," Donna Cassata and Robert Burns, The Associated Press, March 8).

Gee, I wonder if the new director of the CIA, with its classified "renditions" and other foreign sites, was also humming "The Star Spangled Banner" as he took the oath of office.

Meanwhile, is anyone speculating on whether Attorney General Holder's pledge to Paul is as trustworthy as President Obama's assurances to the American people of being faithful to the Constitution and transparent during his administration?

And what about the credibility of Brennan's recent assertions that during his years at the CIA he had no role in the agency's torture program and internally disapproved of it? In a lecture last month at Yeshiva University's Cardozo School of Law in Greenwich Village, retired CIA general counsel John Rizzo said: "(Brennan) never expressed any concerns to me, and his office was 50 feet away from mine" ("New doubt on CIA pick," Josh Margolin, New York Post, Feb. 12).

But, the Post's Margolin wrote, it was Rizzo "who gave the final approval to use waterboarding and other harsh interrogation techniques in the war on terror."

And Brennan's office was only 50 feet away from his?

Brennan, moreover, was a knowledgeable top assistant to then-CIA Director George Tenet, under whose direction "the CIA strapped men to boards and poured water down their throats to the point of near drowning; placed them in small boxes; subjected them to extreme hot and cold..." ("Enhance This Interrogation," Andrea J. Prasow, foreignpolicy.com, Feb. 6).

I'm inclined to vote for Rand Paul in 2016, but I do hope he watches carefully what John Brennan does -- not what he says he's doing -- during the next four years. I also hope the senator looks deeply into what Brennan has already done at the "black site" that is still the CIA.

To be continued.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2013, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast