Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 25, 2012/ 1 Shevat, 5772

Patience Mhlanga escapes Mugabe's killing machine

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A survivor of Robert Mugabe's relentlessly brutal dictatorship in Zimbabwe, Patience Mhlanga would like you to know what it was like to grow up in grinding fear there. She escaped, but her story tells what so many others are still undergoing in that hellhole that the rest of the world allows to continue:

"Growing up in Zimbabwe, I learned the meaning of persecution early. My father was a strong supporter of the Movement for Democratic Change (MDC), and the supporters of Robert Mugabe threatened to kill our family for my father's views.

"One night, while we were sleeping, Mugabe's supporters burned our house, our livestock, my father's store and all of our property. Without telling us where he was going, my father fled to Zambia, where he became a refugee."

Patience, her mother and three siblings "were given one day to leave or be killed."

Once in Harare, the capital city -- where her mother died "of an illness I cannot name to this very day" -- the rest of the family was helped by a Jesuit organization to find and join her father in a Zambian refugee camp. There, "I went for days without food, living on caterpillars and wild animals that my father caught for us.

"Education was provided for citizens (of Zambia), not refugees. The four years in the camp was with no education, so I found a way to teach myself. I wrote in the mud and used charcoal as a chalk for writing on the wooden board."

At last, the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees chose her family to come to America for refugee resettlement. When Patience came here in 2006, she didn't know "a single word of English."

Determination should be Patience's middle name.

After two years in an English as a Second Language class, followed by a regular English class, she went on -- spurred by the principal of her school -- to enroll in an Advanced Placement English class, where some of the other students condescendingly called her "the girl with the little English."

Undaunted, Patience graduated from high school, no longer struggling with the language of what turned out to be her promised land. Having especially enjoyed working in the laboratory during her Advance Placement Chemistry class, Patience was off to college to major in chemistry.

Admitted on a full scholarship to Fairfield University in Connecticut, she's now a sophomore. I first heard about her from my sister, Janet Krauss, an English professor there. Janet is a teacher who does a lot more than lecture and grade exams; she gets to know each of her students. When Patience began to write the story of her life, Janet encouraged her.

I've spoken to Patience, wanting very much to send her story from sea to shining sea as an inspiration -- not only to students who came here as refugees, but to any student struggling to learn. She sent me her story as she wrote it.

Says Patience: "In every struggle I went through, I became a stronger person and was brave to face reality." She also learned to answer Duke Ellington's classic song, "What Am I Here For?"

She intends to become a doctor to be able to use her life experience "to help those unfortunate and who have no access to the medical doctor ...

"I also plan to build my own orphanage and simply help the needy."

Patience is already practicing her mission. While at Fairfield University, she has raised money for St. Jude's Children's Research Hospital. She also volunteered at a nursing home in Norwalk, Conn., through the Youth Health Service Corps, a program that recruits high school students interested in health care professions (www.swctahec.org/education/youth-health-service-corps). She also volunteered at a Bridgeport, Conn., soup kitchen.

At some risk to her health, Patience also went to southern India this past summer where, through the Indian Gospel Mission, she volunteered to live in the Pandur orphanage. Not only did she teach these children, she fed, bathed and played with them.

She misses them, adding, "I know why I have become a stronger person through my hardships. It is simply that I have a purpose. This is my life."

Meanwhile, back in heartless Mugabeland, Amnesty International reports: "Forced evictions in Zimbabwe leave thousands of children without access to education" (amnesty.org, 10/5/11).

In 2005, pretending to be concerned about deplorable conditions in certain communities, the Mugabe government carried out mass evictions to purportedly make a better life possible for those removed from their homes.

"Instead," says Michelle Kagari, Amnesty International's deputy Africa director, "the victims have been driven deeper into poverty, while denial (yes, denial!) of education means young people have no real prospect of extricating themselves from continuing destitution."

I commend Amnesty for caring, as usual, but Michelle Kagari goes on to demand: "Zimbabwean authorities must immediately use all available resources to adopt and implement a national education strategy, which ensures that all children access free primary education."

As if the self-designated Hitler of Africa gives one damn about the ceaseless destitution of these children!

When Patience Mhlanga becomes a doctor, I'm sure she will deeply want to go back to Zimbabwe to educate as many children as she can. But she also knows that almost as soon as she sets foot there, she herself will likely be re-educated in the most gruesome form of Robert Mugabe's torture, or worse.

Only armed intervention will rescue the children of Zimbabwe. Who will be first?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles