Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 3, 2006 / 13 Mar-Cheshvan, 5767

Life is good! Red wine anyone?

By Betsy Hart


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The only thing that for me might beat this week's big health news would be to find that coffee loaded with half-and-half prevents cancer.


But this is a close second: A substance found in red wine, resveratrol, might make us live longer. A lot longer. It worked on mice.


The report reminded me of the scene in the great Woody Allen movie (and weren't they all), "Sleeper." Allen, a health food storeowner, was cryogenically frozen after death and is finally awakened in the future. The doctors of the new era are talking about Allen's life in the distant past, and discussing that once popular fad of health food, something they dismissively note that silly people of the 20th century were apparently "into" before discovering that things like eating red meat and smoking cigarettes was good for one's health.


Anyway, finally what I consider some "good" health news. Something I like is, well, healthy! I feel doubly vindicated since I've often observed that I don't know why anyone even bothers to produce white wine. Ha.


The research was conducted at Harvard Medical School and the National Institute on Aging, and first appeared, online, in the scientific journal Nature.


What I really appreciate is the delicious irony that the health effects of resveratrol are similar to those seen in deliberately calorie restricted (CR) diets. For the uninitiated, CR, as the Wall Street Journal explains it, are diets that "cut normal calorie intake" by about one-third. People on these diets tend to be purposefully emaciated — but they may live a good bit longer than the rest of us. That's because their metabolism slows down to next to nothing — they are sort of "preserved" in time or something. I bet they are constantly cold, too. Why would anyone want to live longer that way?


I'd much rather be cozy with a good glass of cabernet.


Anyway, here's what the WSJ said: "One of the most striking results was the dramatic edge in running endurance among mice on resveratrol compared with their undosed peers. The longer mice were on resveratrol, the perkier they got. After taking it for a year beginning in middle age ... elderly mice had about twice the running endurance of undosed peers."


As I approach middle age (naturally, I don't plan on ever actually being middle-aged no matter how old I get) I know that "perkier" is good.


It actually turns out that resveratrol may be quite effective at mitigating the adverse health effects of obesity (though not the obesity itself). Seriously. Could it get better?


But here come the caveats. It's hard to say if mice fed the huge doses of the drug, all of whom were obese, were living longer because resveratrol "slowed aging or only blocked diseases associated with rich diets."


I'm totally betting on the former. And, in fact, a study of the effects of resveratrol on normal weight mice will be out next year. I'm standing by.


In the meantime here's the other major caveat: red wine actually contains only miniscule amounts of the wonder drug. A person would have to drink some 300 glasses of red wine a day to get the same does of resveratrol given to the mice. So look for resveratrol supplements, already available, to grow in popularity. And how long before wine makers start increasing their resveratrol content, and touting the ingredient on labels?


That's America.


Anyway, I for one am weary from health scares. This bug spray, that food, blah blah, give me break. We enjoy an time when people live far longer and healthier lives than ever before. Our ancestors worried about starvation, and not so long ago. Today the leading cause of preventable death in the U.S, after cigarettes, is too much food, or obesity.


I think sometimes we need to chill out, consider moderation in all things and just realize how great we have it. Or as biologists Matt Kaeberlein and Peter Rabinovitch, the authors of a commentary on the new study, put it in Nature when explaining that we don't really know yet about all the effects of resveratrol: "We counsel patience. Just sit back and relax with a glass of red wine."


Oh, and here's another tidbit from a previous study: It turns out dark chocolate is full of cancer-fighting antioxidants.


You see? Life is good.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

BUY BETSY'S BOOK
"It Takes a Parent : How the Culture of Pushover Parenting is Hurting Our Kids — and What to Do About It"  

"Hart urges parents to focus...on instilling industry, frugality, sincerity and humility. She encourages parents to reclaim the word "no." Contrary to advice you may have received, you needn't give your child choices, or offer alternatives, or explain to little Suzie why she can't eat eight cookies right before bed-you're the parent, and sometimes you can just say no."

  —   Kirkus Reports

Sales help fund JWR.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2006, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles