Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 13, 2006 /21 Tishrei, 5767

Parents: Say ‘no’ to tiny voices on your phone message

By Betsy Hart


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There are times when something finally becomes so clear.


I've written over the years about parents who idolize their children. Parents who let their little one call the shots and rule the home. Parents who drop everything — even conversations with other adults — to marvel at Junior and whatever amazing, fantastic thing he's doing at just that moment. And they'll do so again at the next amazing fantastic thing he does in the next moment.


But as I've spoken and written about the plague of idolized kids, I've never quite had a succinct definition for one.


Now I do: Parents who idolize their progeny allow their very young children to leave the message on the family phone-answering machine.


These parents really believe that the entire world wants to hear a barely 2- or 3-year-old curtain-climber they typically don't even know speak virtually unintelligible babble for a full minute, if not more, before the caller is allowed to leave the nature of his business.


Often, the parents have to provide translation services for the adorable unintelligible child:


I have had this happen to me countless times. Typically, it goes something like this:


Several seconds of nothing. Then, "hawoah. ..." "Hello!!" translates Mom, always with exclamation points. "It's da clubdingons" "You've reached the Camders!" Long pause. "Mama, I done wanna." "Oh, honey, you are doing SO GREAT! Tell the nice people where we are!" Another long pause from the confused child. "Not hwa." "We're not here right now!" Mom clarifies in her singsong voice, because I couldn't possibly have figured that out on my own. "Tell a mssugggggg" "Please leave us a message! Now tell the nice people to have a good day, sweetie!" The child, baffled because he's not actually talking to people, but his mother keeps telling him he is, finally concludes with, "OK, um, byyyyyyyeeee."


At this point I typically don't leave a message because I realize I no longer want anything to do with the family at hand anyway. How could anyone regularly put unsuspecting people through this? And worse, think unsuspecting people want to be put through this?


Because they idolize their children, and they think everyone else should, too. Poor kids.


I suppose when it comes to phone etiquette, the only thing that annoys me more than the itty-bitty voice on the answering machine is when an itty-bitty person actually answers the phone, and I can't get him to let me speak to an adult in under three minutes.


"Is your mom home, dear?" "Um, yeah." Really long pause and I finally realize I'm still on the phone with the curtain-climber. "Can you get her for me, honey?" "Oh, yeah."


That's followed by yelling, typically into the phone — "MOMMMMMMM! SOMEONE IS ON THE PHONE FOR YOUUU!" — and then about two minutes later the irritated voice of the mother is heard saying in the background, "What, someone is on the phone? Who is it?"


Between caller ID and voicemail (with an adult voice, please) there is no reason to torture callers with our children. My kids are allowed to answer the phone only for their own friends and a few adults, and we practice over and over how to do it right.


Full disclosure: They never do it right.


The system is not foolproof, anyway. More than once I've been told: "You know I did call, but some little voice answered." Or worse, I've been in the middle of a well-deserved Sunday afternoon nap, wake to hear the phone ring, rant under my breath against the person interrupting my sleep while thinking how wonderful it is I don't have to actually speak to them, only to have the phone shoved into my face a full minute later by my 5-year-old with "Mom, somebody wants to talk to you!" (Worst of all, I feel compelled to pretend I wasn't sleeping at all.)


But, I do at least try not to torture callers with my kids.


I don't know. I would like to think that the seemingly increasing practice of hearing tiny voices on answering machines is really just sophisticated revenge on telemarketing companies. But I think I have to accept that it's a symptom of a larger problem in our culture — because, well, even telemarketers don't deserve such treatment.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

BUY BETSY'S BOOK
"It Takes a Parent : How the Culture of Pushover Parenting is Hurting Our Kids — and What to Do About It"  

"Hart urges parents to focus...on instilling industry, frugality, sincerity and humility. She encourages parents to reclaim the word "no." Contrary to advice you may have received, you needn't give your child choices, or offer alternatives, or explain to little Suzie why she can't eat eight cookies right before bed-you're the parent, and sometimes you can just say no."

  —   Kirkus Reports

Sales help fund JWR.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2006, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles