Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 1, 2006 /9 Tishrei, 5767

Note to feminists: Women have never had it so good

By Betsy Hart


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Some people are just complainers.


Working Mother magazine, in a well-reported cover story, has just come out with its list of the top 100 companies for working moms, and it's a smorgasbord of good stuff for working women.


At Abbott, the No. 1 company, 65 percent of employees use some form of flexible work arrangement. American Express allows "employees to take advantage of flextime, compressed weeks, telecommuting and job-sharing." At Bayer, "staffers can share jobs, work off-site, or reduce their hours while still receiving health benefits." Eli Lilly, Ford, General Electric, CapitalOne — even places like The Discovery Channel and Lego — all have amazing benefits for women, often including on-site day care and extended maternity leaves — essentially, the kitchen sink.


My favorite? Genentech has a hair salon and a full-time concierge to help moms "knock some items off their to-do list — from waiting for the cable guy to planning a child's birthday." (Now that I could really use!)


Let's review: While often the benefits technically exist for men and women, they are overwhelmingly designed for, and used by, women. And these typically larger employers are setting a pattern — and a high bar — for all kinds of other, often smaller, employers.


So it's no surprise that The Wall Street Journal reported this week in "The Mommy Drain: Employers Beef Up Perks to Lure New Mothers Back to Work," by Sue Shellenbarger, that more and more companies are doing everything they can to keep moms in place after baby arrives. Employers, the Journal reports, are "increasing maternity-leave pay, facilitating longer leaves, (and) offering meaningful jobs with reduced travel and hours." And let's not forget the hair salon.


From providing mentoring for new moms to keep them in touch professionally, to just throwing parties for expectant moms and saying "we want you back!," Shellenbarger shows that the marketplace is forcing ever more companies to jump through hoops to keep women employees happy. Turns out we are pretty valuable.


(Oh, and research shows that today, when variables like education and experience are controlled for, the so-called "wage gap" between men and women essentially disappears.)


So, over at the National Organization for Women, was its Web site cheering these trends? Perhaps a headline pointing out that at no time in the history of the world have women been treated as well or had the opportunities, choices or status we have now in the United States? Maybe even how we can help to export these incredible successes to women around the world?


Um, no.


When I brought the Working Mother cover story to the attention of the folks at NOW, President Kim Gandy told me that yes, there are some positive trends there — it's "good, but not great" — and yet, she explained to me, the report just wasn't on NOW's radar screen.


Here's what is, as featured on NOW's Web site: "NOW and other women's rights organizations plan to follow up on the U.N. Human Rights Committee recommendations concerning (widespread) sex-based employment discrimination in the United States."


NOW may find that at this point such "discrimination" may largely be running against the guys. I mean, how many men can, or would, really indulge in the luxury of ever thinking to themselves, "Gee, would I like to be respected for having a meaningful job with all kinds of perks for being a dad, or respected for staying home and raising my children, or maybe a little of both? Hmmm, what should I choose, let me think. ..."


Yes, it is certainly the case that a lot of women still have crummy jobs where their bosses wouldn't lift a finger for them. Guess what? That is, and has long been, the case for so many (if not most) men, too. That's not what we are talking about here.


We're talking about a generation of women in the United States who have unprecedented, extraordinary possibilities and choices available to them in professional and family life, including ones that are, for all practical purposes, not open to men. And, yes, I fully concede that the early feminist movement ignited many of these amazing advances.


My mother used to point out that there are some people who just aren't happy unless they have something to complain about. Sigh. So it seems to be with the modern-day sisterhood.


Well, anyway, at least the rest of us can celebrate that, hey, we've come a long way, baby!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

BUY BETSY'S BOOK
"It Takes a Parent : How the Culture of Pushover Parenting is Hurting Our Kids — and What to Do About It"  

"Hart urges parents to focus...on instilling industry, frugality, sincerity and humility. She encourages parents to reclaim the word "no." Contrary to advice you may have received, you needn't give your child choices, or offer alternatives, or explain to little Suzie why she can't eat eight cookies right before bed-you're the parent, and sometimes you can just say no."

  —   Kirkus Reports

Sales help fund JWR.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2006, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles