Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 12, 2008 / 14 Mar-Cheshvan 5769

Bias or basis?

By Paul Greenberg


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Dear Unhappy Subscriber,

It was wholly a pleasure to get your phone message, to wit: "Question: Why is there a 90 percent right-wing editorial slant in your editorials? Isn't this a disservice to the people?"

Gosh, we haven't measured the exact angle of our prescribed editorial tilt lately here at the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, and wonder how you do. Are we really only 90 degrees to starboard instead of the standard 98.6? Also, if we're for mom, apple pie and cooler summers, but against crime and mosquitoes, does that make us right-wing, left-wing, centrist, radical or just platitudinous? And why measure at all?

Whether our views offend only 90 percent of our readers or 99.9, I'd like to think we'd still say just what we think in the editorial column, and run some points of view different from our own, preferably the best written and most cogent ones. We owe that much to you the reader and to ourselves. It's our job. The opinion section of a newspaper is supposed to be opinionated, as opposed to the news side.

The old Arkansas Gazette had its finest hour when it stood pretty much alone in the Little Rock Crisis of 1957 against the mob mentality, and those cowed by it. A great newspaper doesn't ask itself whether its opinions please, but whether they are right.

What you may call bias, Valued Correspondent, I think of as a basis, a point of view, a perspective on events, a set of principles that keeps us from going with every passing wind of political fashion. Without a basis, what good is an opinion? That kind of weathervane opinion is less a guide than a reflection of the times. It's all sail, no anchor.

The other day, during the presidential campaign that would not end, a nice lady called to say that, uh, you know, many of our subscribers — and we appreciate every one of them, for they keep us in business — have political opinions different from our own, and so shouldn't we be more, uh, representative, and soften our views?

She was more than civil about it; it didn't sound like a threat at all. But she seemed under the impression that our editorial opinions were for sale. Or at least should be determined by a poll of our readers.

The lady must have got me by mistake. She really should have been put through to our advertising department, which would have been only too happy to publish her views at a reasonable rate. We have no shortage of opinions of our own to publish in the editorial column, which is where we try to keep them rather than let them contaminate the news columns.

An honest newspaper does not pander to its readers or hide its convictions. It confides in its readers, as any good friend would. It does not put the bubble Popularity above its duty to level with its subscribers, including many who might disagree. We value every one of them, especially those of a different view who are open enough to read us anyway.

We carry a wide variety of opinions other than our own on our editorial and op-ed pages, not to mention the Sunday opinion section and Letters column. We would no more censor our readers' views than we would our own. It's a free country, and we aim to keep it that way. Why not write us a letter to the editor, by the way? Why should I be the only one to benefit by your wisdom?

You'll find an opinion in our pages to suit just about every taste, no matter how depraved. Feel free to pick and choose. As if you were going through a cafeteria line. Can't stand the Brussels sprouts, but love the turnip greens? You pays your money and takes your commentary.

You might find some of our columnists over on the port side to your taste, Dear Critic. As for those to starboard, skip 'em. Why risk changing your mind? Thinking can be dangerous to a cloistered opinion.

News flash: Nobody has to read — or publish — only stuff he agrees with. That's a recipe for a closed mind. Consider the sad fate of those who get their news exclusively from blogs guaranteed to mirror their own prejudices left, right or just plain nuts. It must be like living in an echo chamber.

Rather than figure out just where the exact middle of the political spectrum is and cleaving to it, we'd prefer to voice our opinion — even at the risk of being criticized for it. Feel free to write us a hot letter to the editor. We learn most from our critics. Especially about them.

So, no, we do not propose to remain fastidiously neutral in our editorial column between left and right, right and wrong. That's not opinionating, it's just calibrating.

Inky Wretch

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles