Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 2, 2009 / 15 Mar-Cheshvan 5770

The Holocaust is now on Facebook

By Paul Greenberg




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | WARSAW (AP) — The memorial museum at Auschwitz has launched a Facebook page hoping that the popular social-neworking site will help it reach young people around the globe and engage them in discussions about the former Nazi death camp and the Holocaust…


It had to happen. The Holocaust is now on Facebook. From enormity into classroom discussion topic. It's the standard modern metamorphosis. Awe has given way to science, horror to the antiseptic dissection of it. Modernity means trivialization.


Now we have Holocaust Studies. Just as we have American/Black/Jewish/Women's/ Middle East Studies. Have you noticed? The addition of Studies to any discipline has a way of ending it as a discipline. And marks its beginning as … what? Fad, obsession, ceremonial observance, group therapy? All of the above and vaporous more?


The process is familiar by now. It happened long ago to the Holocaust. Something singular, ineffable, monstrous … is turned into nothing distinctive, quite discussable, almost cut-and-dried. The pain too deep to be voiced, all the pity and sorrow and shame and anguish have been transmuted into … what, exactly? Another pseudo-science? College major? Genocide like any other? Call it Holocaust 101.


It's the inescapable, modern way: demystification. The greatest mystery cannot survive being talked to death. So we get Holocaust Day the way we have Black History Month. It is observed mainly for ceremonial purposes, or political ones, or just out of a sense of duty that became rote long ago.


We know something should be done, we know this all must be studied, none of it forgotten. But our attention wanders. How many times can we be told the same thing without its paling? And it is no longer possible simply to contemplate it in silence.


Oh, silence may still be possible in theory, but not in practice. Silence is the one service all our modern, sophisticated, wondrous, interconnected technology does not permit. Our consumer culture can produce a new gizmo a minute — the Next Big Thing we all must have. But not silence. And not the whole constellation of things that go with it: reflection, reverence, privacy, solitude, contemplation, awe. All that is so yesterday.


Instead we get the Holocaust on Facebook, and for perfectly practical, useful educational reasons. The Holocaust had its own page on YouTube by last year. Now we know it is important that we talk about it — far more important than anything we might have to say about it.


There's no explicit law against silence, but there might as well be. Presidents want to have a Conversation About Race, but what they have to say about it is … we forget. But we know something can't be important unless we talk about it, preferably in a group, soulfully, like guests on Oprah.


How long have I been reading/talking/arguing about the Holocaust? I grew up with it. There were countless Zionist rallies, letter-writing campaigns, angry editorials in the Jewish press, Israel bond sales, fiery speeches by mesmerizing orators, scholarly articles and books. … Till it all turned from horror into industry. From history into talking points.


Studies of the Holocaust now abound, some of them solid ones. There was Gerald Reitlinger's pioneering "The Final Solution." And then Lucy Dawidowicz's later "The War Against the Jews, 1933-1945." Though that particular war scarcely ended in 1945. Just look at the United Nations today.


The best of the scholarly studies may be the slimmest: Richard Rubenstein's "The Cunning of History." More a meditation than a history, it doesn't deal with how the Holocaust was carried out but why it happened — why it was the consummation of modernity. The author could have taken as his motif Max Weber's definition of modernity: rationalization, bureaucratization and the disenchantment of the world.


That prescient, early 20th-century German sociologist could not have foreseen the Holocaust, but he described with uncanny precision the ideas that made it inevitable.


The Holocaust was not a discontinuity in the history of Western civilization, but its natural progression. Secularization, social Darwinism, the idea of surplus populations, totalitarian ideology, the modern all-powerful State, technocratic organization, the theory and opportunity all came together at one point: 1933-45.


At that point evil became mundane, ordinary, routine, a step up the career ladder. Call it the banality of evil, as Hannah Arendt did in a flash of insight. Now we're to get the Holocaust on Facebook. Now we can all chatter about the unspeakable.


Through the years, I would read the books, attend the seminars, listen to the professors, argue about the Nuremberg Trials and the supposed German character, change my mind and back a dozen times, get sick of the whole thing, then return to it. Till silence opened like a refuge.


When I was a child, I felt as a child, heard and saw as a child. One day — I think it was a Sunday afternoon — I heard a scream. I thought it came from the back of the house, but it filled every space. Loud, piercing, unending. It had no start, no rise or fall. It just kept on. With no change in pitch or tone. Unhuman. At first I thought it was a siren. I thought it would never end. Then it did. And things went on. I didn't think about it. I knew it was a grownup thing.


It was my grandmother. Some fool of a visitor had mentioned the rumors abut what was happening in Europe to her. She had left her other children there. And grandchildren. In Paris and Warsaw. But after that endless moment, I never heard her scream again. Or laugh or cry. Or complain. Though she hadn't had an easy life. To this day, after all those books and seminars and the Museum of the Holocaust, after all that talk and now Facebook, I can't think of a saner response to the Holocaust. A scream. Then a lifelong silence.

Paul Greenberg Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles