Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 28, 2011 / 29 Elul, 5771

About That Article You Hated …

By Paul Greenberg




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Dear Irate,

Blame me.

I'm the editor here at the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette who put that article that so offended you -- and a number of other valued readers -- on the cover of our Sunday opinion September 11th.

It was wholly a pleasure to hear from you all because it gives me an opportunity to explain why I would do such a thing.

You remember that article -- indeed, you won't soon forget it. It was headed, "Let's Cancel 9/11/ America, tear down that Freedom Tower." It suggested the country stop observing the anniversary of the most devastating surprise attack on American soil since Pearl Harbor.

I don't agree with the writer, either. Which is precisely why I chose to run it in so prominent a place. Because it offered a provocative counterpoint to the view we took on our editorial page that same day -- a full-page color reproduction of the attack on the Twin Towers emblazoned with the words: "Remember/September 11th."

The article that got you so stirred up took a diametrically opposite view from my own column on that same page. ("What have we learned from this?")

Far from canceling September 11th, I've long thought -- and suggested -- that we ought to move Flag Day, now almost forgotten in June, to September 11th.

Remember how all the flags came out as the news of the attacks spread? Within hours, Old Glory was flying atop the smoldering ruins of the World Trade Center. It would be raised over suburban houses and in inner cities, on cars and trucks and trailers, at the Pentagon ... and over that black gash in an empty field near Shanksville, Pa. That was the only trace left when United Flight 93 exploded there with its 7,000 gallons of jet fuel that fateful morning.

As the saga of United 93 reminds us, Americans were fighting back even before the terrorists could complete their plans. ("Let's Roll!") Forget those heroes? Never.

The whole country seemed united that day in one roar of defiance, and our armed forces would soon respond. As they respond to this day.

Cancel September 11th? Like hell we will.

But also part of being American is to let all voices be heard, even and especially those that provoke us. So on September 11th of this year, the 10th anniversary of another day that will live in infamy, our opinion section offered a wide array of opinions to our wide array of readers.

Naturally, people will disagree with any number of opinions expressed in the paper. But I'd rather folks disagree with us, even be upset with us, than not get the widest spectrum of opinions into the paper.

Just this past Sunday, we ran an interview with Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, Iran's president and demagogue-in-chief, on the cover of our opinion section. If this were 1933, and we had a full interview with Adolf Hitler available, I'd run it, too. Forewarned is forearmed.

A good newspaper, I would submit, reflects a wide array of opinions and not just those we find comfortable. I can't think of a more damning description of an opinion section than "inoffensive." A newspaper so afraid of offending that it won't print anything unpopular isn't worth reading.

I understand if you hold a different opinion, and we'd be more than happy to consider a letter to the editor from you to that effect. Feel free to join the free-for-all we try to conduct on our opinion pages. That kind of robust debate, I would submit, is what the First Amendment is all about. Come on in, the water's hot.

Freedom only for those whose views we approve, or whose views don't stray too far from our own, isn't freedom at all but a kind of echo chamber.

The increasing atomization of American opinion strikes me as dangerous. More and more Americans seem to read only publications or consult websites that mirror their own convictions/prejudices. Or tune in to a television network, whether Fox or MSNBC, that will reinforce rather than challenge their own ideas.

But we need to know not just what like-minded folk think, but what those on the other side have to say.

Who knows, we might learn something. At least about the bounds of our own tolerance. And about some of the notions being preached on the far left and many a college campus. (Or do I repeat myself?)

Certainly the press, now known as The Media, ought to be criticized -- most of all by the press itself. The Republic is seldom safer than when its various pundits are taking out after each other -- and taking aim at every sacred bovine in sight.

So long as newspapers and commentators and writers of irate letters to the editor are at each other's throats and ideas, freedom may yet prosper. For a robust exchange of opinion is what a free country is all about--in my opinion.

Sincerely,

Inky Wretch

Paul Greenberg Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

© 2010 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles