Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 13, 2010 / 3 Elul, 5770

Blood on Their Hands

By Paul Greenberg




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It was another century and another U.S. Army, which has undergone many a change for the better since it was the largely conscripted force of the Eisenhower years.

It was the late 1950s, and out in Oklahoma's scrublands around Fort Sill, a G-2 officer was critiquing one of our field exercises, trying to teach us ROTC cadets some of the rudiments of military intelligence (yes, I know, some say that's an oxymoron) and maybe even just a little plain intelligence.

What he'd done was police the area after our artillery unit had used it as a firing base. He'd picked up some of the trash we'd overlooked -- scraps of paper, a hometown newspaper, half-written letters home, and even a field manual we'd left behind ("Notes for the Battery Executive").

He went through each one, pointing out that even what looked like an innocuous note might yield important information -- like the time and place of the mission, the size of the force, its composition, equipment, leadership, morale ... you name it.

Gentle Reader can just imagine the treasure trove of information -- I certainly can -- now available to this country's enemies in the estimated 92,000 classified documents that Wikileaks has just released.

Julian Assange, an Australian who identifies himself as Wikileaks' "editor-in-chief," pops up in London from time to time to propagandize. He might like to compare this document dump to the celebrated Pentagon Papers case back in the Vietnam Years. (The other day, he was posing in front of a picture from the Vietnam War.) But the release of that secret history of the war didn't tell the American public anything new, nor did it contain anything that directly threatened national security, however much it might have done to undermine public support for the war.

In contrast, there's no telling how many names, places, dates and disclosures are hidden in this pile of paper that's just hit the fan. Though you can bet our enemies will be poring over it. So will any and all kinds of snoops who have an interest in how American forces operate -- and not with an eye to helping them.

To quote a former CIA director, Michael Hayden, "If I had gotten this trove on the Taliban or al-Qaida, I would have called this priceless. ... If I'm head of the Russian intelligence, I'm getting my best English speakers and saying: 'Read every document, and I want you to tell me, how good are these guys? What are their approaches, their strengths, their weaknesses and their blind spots.' "

The Pentagon isn't underestimating the danger posed by this gusher of a leak. The lowly Pfc. suspected of transferring all this computerized data to Wikileaks has been charged with revealing classified information and, unlike all these documents, has been locked up securely.

At last count, 80 going on 125 intelligence experts were sifting through this mountain of military intelligence in an attempt to sort out which snippets might endanger our troops, allies or the Afghans who've cooperated with them. And taking steps to control the damage.

Nor is the release of all this data -- raw and refined, including gossip, hearsay and miscellaneous info -- going to make relations with our Pakistani allies/adversaries any easier. There's a lot of criticism of the Pakistanis in this deluge of data, much of it probably deserved, about their ties with the Taliban.

Nor is such a massive intelligence leak likely to encourage other countries to cooperate with us, lest their secrets be revealed by some Pfc with a connection to the World Wide Web. Who would trust the Americans after this?

Editor and agitator Assange claims he hasn't released any information that might endanger national security, which is hard to believe. Just the size of this data dump indicates it may contain a lot of information whose relevance to national security he may not understand -- though our enemies might.

Or as Michael Mullen, the admiral who's now chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, pointed out: "Mr. Assange can say whatever he likes about the greater good he thinks he and his sources are doing, but the truth is they might already have on their hands the blood of some young soldier, or that of an Afghan family."

Here's hoping the Wikileaks story will prove only a one-week wonder, and that the sheer amount of the military and diplomatic intelligence available in all these documents will discourage the wrong people from trying to find what they're looking for in them. But if just one GI has been endangered, or one intelligence source compromised, that would be one too many.

Still another breach of national security by a supposedly idealistic crusader is scarcely news in our times. The only surprise would be if the leaker weren't given a Pulitzer Prize for his efforts. Brother Assange can always hope. When it exposed how American intelligence used databanks to trace terrorists' international calls, the New York Times got a Pulitzer. Why not Wikileaks?

Paul Greenberg Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles