Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 11, 2009 / 21 Menachem-Av 5769

Simple Gifts

By Paul Greenberg




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | They wait for us by the side of the road, not that most of us notice. We've got places to go, things to do, people to see. So we zoom past, one eye on the clock, the other on the rear-view mirror. And never spot them.


You can't see them from the interstate, at least not most of them. They've been cleared away along with the old billboards and junked cars and all the other reminders of the past. Between one exit and the other, nothing must distract from the hypnotic highway. The object is to create a no-place. Instead of being somewhere, we are so many miles or hours away from somewhere. Till then we are in transit. Life is suspended. Our blinders are in place.


It is only on the two-lanes, the blue highways on the map, the curving old roads through the countryside, that we might take note of them for an instant, or at least where they used to be. But only if we're looking for them. And fewer and fewer of us are. We've got games and Global Positioning Systems, iPods and Kindles, even television screens waiting to light up at our touch. There's no need to notice where we are. We might be tempted to look outside our selves. Or even risk solitude. Can't have that.


So we roll on, eyes and minds elsewhere. We don't notice them, or even where they used to be. Some are covered with kudzu, hidden from view. Others have slowly collapsed in a heap of lumber. We give them a glance, if that, and hurry on. Sometimes only a foundation may remain, the rest is memory. A kind of afterlife.


We sense them rather than see them, the old country churches. They're gone yet they remain. Like a dream that fades but never disappears, as if it were a ray of light, a reflection of the first burst of Creation still streaming across our patch of universe. Abandoned, unpeopled, crumbling slowly by the side of the road, still the old churches live. And call to us, as in call-and-response, the traditional refrain of the black church.


Sometimes someone responds. Someone like David Mann, who's now visited hundreds of these old churches here in Arkansas, capturing the light they shed on black-and-white film. They may be decaying hulks not used in decades, or they may still be holding Sunday services for the few faithful.


A selection of David Mann's pictures now hangs in an otherwise empty hall at the Arkansas Studies Institute here in Little Rock, tucked away from the crowd heading for the coffee shops and bars in the River Market neighborhood, or maybe to the farmers' market or down to the Clinton Library. Once again the old churches are being passed by. But still they call to us.


The pictures in this exhibition don't come with a catalogue, happily. Words would only get in the way. Even the titles of the pictures — some plain, others ironic — are useful mainly to identify the photographs. The absence of commentary comes as a relief. Explanation is the great American vice.


The images alone are more than enough: A broken sign at the side of the road, with an arrow pointing to Holiness. A bare electric bulb suspended from a ceiling, like light in a dark place. And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not. A tarpaper tabernacle folding in on itself. Old wooden benches worn away by prayers. A solitary little sprig of a tree that has sprung up in front of a boarded-up door. A sign on the corner of a neatly preserved old church that says only No Trespassing, as in forgive us our trespasses. A solemn notice on a graveyard fence reads: Do Not Open Graves Without Permission — the tribute of a world always surprised by Easter.


Each picture is a simple gift. As in the Shaker hymn, 'Tis the gift to be simple, 'tis the gift to be free, / 'Tis the gift to come down where we ought to be… There is something about these pictures that says: This is where you ought to be. Something that says: Be still. And know.


The exhibit doesn't end till September 26. Till then, like the churches in the pictures, it calls to us.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here. Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles