Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 9, 2013/ 2 Menachem-Av, 5773

He's great out of the country

By Paul Greenberg




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Speaking in Capetown, South Africa, our president did himself and the United States of America proud. This is what he told his hosts, among other uplifting things:

"And for America, this isn't just about numbers on a balance sheet or the resources that can be taken out of the ground. We believe that societies and economies only advance as far as individuals are free to carry them forward. ... Now, ultimately, I believe that Africans should make up their own minds about what serves African interests. We trust your judgment, the judgment of ordinary people. We believe that when you control your destiny, if you've got a handle on your governments, then governments will promote freedom and opportunity, because that will serve you."

Hear, hear. Governments exist to serve the people, not the other way around. Governments, at least the worst kind, seem to believe the people exist to serve them. They've got things reversed.

Bertolt Brecht once wrote a little ditty along those lines, but it was so apropos that the Stalinist regime he'd embraced in East Germany wouldn't let his poem be published:

The Solution

After the uprising of the 17th of June

The Secretary of the Writers' Union

Had leaflets distributed in the Stalinallee

Stating that the people

Had forfeited the confidence of the government

And could win it back only

By redoubled efforts. Would it not be easier

In that case for the government

To dissolve the people

And elect another?

Barack Obama's approach, at least the one he embraced in Africa, is much preferable. It rings true to the theory expressed in this country's Declaration of Independence, whose 237th anniversary we just celebrated:

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. -- That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed....

Our current president is so eloquent abroad. Imagine how popular and effective he might be if he stressed those same themes here at home -- freedom, opportunity, letting people determine their own destiny instead of some distant bureaucracy making our decisions for us. In short, the American Dream.

If only this president would uphold that shining vision here at home, too, he could be another Ronald Reagan, charting a new course that is really the old one on which these united states set out more than two centuries ago.



Back then, a wandering French soldier of fortune named Crevecoeur, who would have a checkered career as diplomat and essayist on two continents, would win a place in American letters and history by writing his "Letters From an American Farmer" with its idyllic vision of that American dream.

Crevecoeur's thesis: From the moment an immigrant steps foot on American soil, he is transformed: "This great metamorphosis ... extinguishes all his European prejudices; he forgets that mechanism of subordination, that servility of disposition which poverty has taught him."

The new immigrant becomes a new man, a free man, an American. Or as Crevecoeur's fictional farmer declares, "The instant I enter on my own land, the bright idea of property, of exclusive right, of independence exalt the mind."

Yes, all that may be something of a myth, but myths make the man. And the society. If we believe ourselves to be unique, independent, able to determine our own fate, we become unique, independent and our own masters. Just as the opposite is true: If an all-powerful State believes it can make better economic decisions than millions acting of their own accord in a free market, well, good luck. For the best-laid plans of mice and social planners, to borrow a line from Robert Burns, gang aft a-gley.

Our eloquent president returned to his own country last week to survey the fast emerging results of his zest for centralized planning. Or rather the non-results. His great reform of American medical care, dubbed Obamacare in his honor, had missed still another deadline. This time it was the deadline for enforcing the tax/fine on businesses that fail to comply with Obamacare by submitting the required mountain of paperwork.

Accountants, executives and employees of those businesses in general were being asked to fill out the kind of forms that surpass all understanding, which may be the only thing they have in common with the peace of G0D. It seems our community organizer-in-chief doesn't organize very well.

The millions of American businesses affected by this provision of Obamacare now have received a year's reprieve. But what about the rest of us who must deal with Obamacare's complicated choices, criteria and all too vague requirements? Don't we deserve a year's delay, too?

Couldn't we just put off enforcing this law for a while -- like forever? Simply by repealing the whole mess. And starting from scratch in hopes of designing a workable system to insure the uninsured.

One of Obamacare's architects, Sen. Max Baucus of Montana, now has called it an approaching train wreck, though it might be more accurate to describe it as a gigantic example of Rube Goldberg engineering that seems headed nowhere at the moment except more delay and confusion.

Friedrich Hayek, the Austrian economist who wrote a little book called "The Road to Serfdom," put it this way: "The curious task of economics is to demonstrate to men how little they really know about what they imagine they can design."

Paul Greenberg Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

© 2010 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast