Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 1, 2009 / 9 Tamuz 5769

To Family!

By Paul Greenberg


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | ATLANTA — There are times when I can't help but think of the climactic scene from the movie "Moonstruck." The finale is the mod equivalent of Shakespearean comedy: All the loose ends are tied up, the characters reveal their true selves, the family is reunited, and the Happy Ending is finally achieved. All to the strains of "O Soave Fanciulla," the love duet from Puccini's "La Boheme."


Perfect.


It's life as it should be and sometimes actually is. The family's whole world has been turned upside down only to be turned right side up at the end. Having rejected Our Heroine (believe me, she wasn't right for him — nor he for her), the suddenly former fiance is stunned to discover that she's the one who has rejected him — for of all people … his long estranged brother. And the happy lovers make a perfect couple.


The faces of the cast swirl away in golden, glittering light as the champagne is uncorked, the glasses filled, and a lump of sugar dropped into each one. The former suitor and now brother of the groom just sits there, at a loss. The grandfather of the family presses a glass of champagne on him, but he just holds it, nonplussed. But not for long. Then he is reconciled and softly repeats the toast: "To family!" For he's family, too, if not in the way he'd once anticipated.


The End.


I am thinking of that scene from "Moonstruck" as I give a dutiful lick-and-a-promise to my worn dress shoes, preparing to attend the wedding — black-tie optional — of my great-niece seven floors down in the ballroom of a plush hotel in Atlanta. This isn't an end but a continuation: More than half a century ago, I was the ringbearer at the wedding of the bride's grandmother, my big sister, in the living room of our house on Forrest Avenue in Shreveport, La.


A generation later, I would be there to celebrate the wedding of her daughter, my niece. I can remember my mother, who had a beautiful falsetto voice when on rare occasion she felt relaxed enough to use it, singing Yiddish songs as we drove to her granddaughter's wedding.


Funny the one thing that'll stand out, looking back on some family event, and become central. And will make you so grateful you were there for it. Like my mother's singing in the car. You can never anticipate what serendipitous little detail will lodge itself in your memory and, to you, become central. And it makes you so grateful you were there for it.


I'm about to tie my tie and head down for the main event when the phone rings. It's my Cousin Sammy, who may not be the oldest surviving cousin but is the senior one present for the joyous occasion. "I'm in trouble," he says. For a moment I think the worst and prepare to dial 911.


"It's nothing like that," Sammy assures me, as if he can read my thoughts. It seems he's brought his tux, but between his carpel tunnel and the unfamiliarity of getting all gussied up, he's had to call for help. How's he going to manage the bow tie? And those tiny studs that have to go through the little buttonholes in the always overstarched formal shirt?


Sammy explains that he would have called the grandfather of the bride, my brother-in-law and the competent one in the family, but George had already gone downstairs for the wedding photographs. So he's turned to me. Can I help?


"Sure," I say, my voice full of false confidence. I can never get into a boiled shirt myself without a struggle that seems to take forever; how am I going to help Sammy? "I'll be right there," I say. "No problem." You gotta have faith.


On the way up to his room, I think back to the summers I used to spend in Chicago, the capital of this now far-flung family, and how Sammy and his younger brother Jerry would let me tag along with them. I can remember the cool morning breeze that woke us on their sleeping porch, and how you could hear Aunt Rose fixing cereal in the kitchen of their South Side duplex, and getting ready to March Around the Breakfast Table with Don McNeill, your radio host.


How well taken care of I was. And now I could do some small service for Sammy. What a privilege. As it turns out, it's a lot easier to help another man into bow tie, studs and all the rest than have to dress yourself. We're done in no time. Sammy, if I do say so myself, now that I'm an experienced valet, looks grand in his tux. Then it's time to celebrate. We'll soon be dancing the hora.


Funny the one thing that'll stand out, looking back on some family event, and become central. And will make you so grateful you were there for it.


My apologies to the lady: A wire story I just read describes the lady who was the object of Governor Mark Sanford's affections in Argentina not as married but as divorced, although my column about the affair referred to "double adultery." I was misinformed by earlier dispatches, and ask the lady to forgive me.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here. Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles