Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 9, 2014 / 11 Sivan, 5774

Another time, another scandal, or: it all sounds so familiar

By Paul Greenberg




JewishWorldReview.com | Talk about deja vu. Once again the party out of power is demanding an investigation. To which the administration responds: (a) There's nothing to investigate because, (b) we've already investigated and explained it, (c) too much time has been wasted on it as it is, (c) the country has more pressing problems that need our attention, and (d) any or all of the above. Or, to put it in more concise fashion: Move on, there's nothing to see here.

Nothin' doin', says the loyal but insistent opposition, aka the Republicans in the House. Yes, there have already been seven different investigations in addition to 13 hearings on what happened before, during and after the bloody massacre at Benghazi, which took the lives of four brave Americans. Jay Carney, the White House press secretary, wasted no time counting them all up, and noting that none of them had hit pay dirt.

But that was before a smoking gun was discovered in the form of an email from a political operative at the White House laying out the administration's cover story for its mouthpieces to repeat--a version of events that fell apart once there was enough time to examine it. So let's start Investigation No. 8.

Besides, the GOP has a fighting prosecutor to lead the next investigation, and he doesn't care how many reams of documents the administration released about Benghazi while holding back the key one. "I'm not interested in summaries, I'm not interested in synopses," says Trey Gowdy, a congressman from South Carolina who's been chosen to captain the GOP team this time around. "I'm interested in access to the documents . . . and I'm not interested in whether the appropriate questions were asked in the past."

To which Steny Hoyer, the Democratic whip in the House, responds in his always eloquent way: "That's baloney."

I can identify. I've been there. It was another scandal in another year, another decade, another century, a whole other era. That scandal was dubbed Watergate, after the apartment building where the headquarters of the Democratic National Committee had been burglarized, raising questions and setting off demands for an investigation. I was writing editorials at the time in that key listening post, Pine Bluff, Ark., and it all sounded like baloney to me.

Week after week, month after month, our editorials in the Pine Bluff Commercial pooh-poohed the whole idea that the White House was involved in some nefarious conspiracy to cover up the truth. But then we -- and the country -- learned that the attorney general of the United States, the Hon. John N. Mitchell, who was married to a Pine Bluff belle, character, and heavy drinker named Martha Beall Mitchell, had been lying about Watergate all along. And even more surprising, at least to me, Martha had been telling the truth.

The scales fell from my eyes. Why, it hadn't been baloney after all. The Pine Bluff Commercial would sponsor a nationwide drive to erect a monument to Martha, and I was proud to lead it. People all over the country sent in their little $5 and $10 checks to help build it. Blessed are the poor. These folks had believed Martha all along. It was both embarrassing and cleansing to be have been proved wrong, and I was grateful to her.

I can still hear echoes of that old scandal in this new one. Some of the lines don't seem to have changed much at all: "After 12 weeks and two million words of televised testimony, we have reached a point at which a continued, backward-looking obsession with Watergate is causing this nation to neglect matters of far greater importance to all of the American people. We must not stay so mired in Watergate that we fail to respond to challenges of surpassing importance to America and the world. We cannot let an obsession with the past destroy our hopes for the future." -- Richard M. Nixon, Address to the Nation, August 15, 1973.

I had a friend back then, Steed Joyce, who after years of keeping track of supplies at the Cotton Belt railroad, decided to go off and became an Episcopal priest. He tried to warn me not to put my trust in princes, specifically R. Nixon and his minions. To commemorate my folly he sent me a beautifully calligraphed scroll in the perfect Hebrew script he'd learned in seminary. It's a copy of Verse 1, Chapter 8 of the Book of Nehemiah: And all the people gathered themselves together before the water gate . . . Steed, now the Reverend Mr. Joyce, had thoughtfully penned the Hebrew words for Watergate, Shaar Hamayim, in red. So I couldn't miss them.

I've still got that little piece of Scripture, now preserved in a simple black frame, hanging on my office wall where I can see it every day. Just in case I'm ever again tempted to dismiss talk of a White House scandal as baloney.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Paul Greenberg is the Pulitzer prize-winning editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette.

Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2014 TRIBUNE CONTENT AGENCY, LLC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast