Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 2, 2010 / 20 Sivan 5770 5770

The Word from Epictetus

By Paul Greenberg




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It was definitely time to visit the Greek. No doubt about it. It's been a long primary campaign here in Arkansas, has seemed even longer, and the thing is still going on -- with the run-offs scheduled next Tuesday. Like a binge that's easing into a hangover even before it's was over. The mind wanders, the spirit wanes.

To quote that great psychologist, HAL 9000 in "A Space Odyssey," "Da-a-ve, my mind is going. I can feel it." Good old HAL had to be the most human character in the movie, despite his breakdown, or maybe because of it. It was the astronauts who spoke like robots.

Probably the only reason ol' HAL held together as long as he did was because he never thought of politics. Or at least a Democratic primary in Arkansas. That'd throw anybody into a Hofstadter-Moebius Loop, which is a pseudo-scientific term for a combination of too much history and too little ability to change focus. My identity with HAL, poor fellow, was growing entirely too strong. It was definitely time to visit the Greek. No doubt about it.

That's how I found myself once again in the little cafe out on the highway. The sound of lyre and bouzouki on an old recording played somewhere behind a beaded curtain; the aroma of egg-lemon soup wafted through the little dining room.

The steam rose from the moussaka, like good sense above vain things. What a change from the campaign.

"It's been a while," said the hostess/cashier/waitress/scullery maid as I walked through the door. I couldn't recall her name. Clio? Melpomene? I never could tell History and Tragedy apart. I do remember she'd told me once she had eight sisters. Me, I'd settle for just one muse instead of having to depend on the headlines and caffeine to get me started in the mornings.

I found the old man in his room upstairs, reclining on a couch, serene as ever, unsurprised to see me or anything else. "It's the campaign season," I began. "That's got to be the root of my problem. Everybody's been a little ruffled. You know the best story I heard about this year's election? One candidate told me he was out in the country making his rounds, introducing himself for the umpteenth time that day, when he walked up a gravel drive to find an old boy doing a little barbecuing. The man took the candidate's brochure, glanced at it, and said only: 'Ain't no politician gonna save us now.' And threw it onto the fire. That about sums up the whole country's mood. What's to be done, Mr. Epictetus, what's to be done?"

"No need for the Mister," said the old man. "I was born a slave and never cared much for titles. Just remember that things themselves cannot hurt nor hinder you. Neither can what people say. It is how we view them, our own attitudes and reactions, that give us trouble. As my student, Marcus Aurelius, well learned. If you must trouble yourself with philosophy, read his 'Meditations.' "

The old man fixed his eyes on me and continued: "Only remember this: Happiness and freedom begin and end with a clear understanding of this one principle: Some things are within our control, and some things are not. It is only after you have faced up to this fundamental rule and learned to distinguish between what you can and cannot control that inner tranquility and outer effectiveness become possible.

"One more thing: If you think you have free rein over things that are naturally beyond your control, or if you attempt to adopt the affairs of others as your own, your pursuits will be thwarted and you will become a frustrated, anxious and fault-finding person."

What? Not find fault? "But I'm a newspaper columnist!"

"No matter," said the old man. "Just as Marcus Aurelius -- who wound up a Roman emperor -- found it possible to lead the good life even in a palace, so it is possible even for a columnist to live well. Even write well. Start with the avgolemono. Finish with a piece of baklava and dark coffee. You will find perspective restored."

I took his advice and ordered some take-out. Even if I hadn't, I wouldn't have left the place empty-handed.

Paul Greenberg Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles