Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 24, 2012/ 2 Iyar, 5772

Dreamwork

By Paul Greenberg




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Friday night I dreamed about Ted Stevens. Why would a dead senator from Alaska walk into my dream here in the middle of Arkansas? Maybe he was lost.

I never knew the man, though I must have written editorials about him from time to time in his long political career.

He was a feisty, five-foot-six, cigar-smoking war hero. He flew Over the Hump in World War II with the Flying Tigers (and earned the Distinguished Flying Cross). After the war, he would settle in Alaska, where he worked as U.S. attorney and would spend a lifetime as a ferocious advocate of Alaska's interests, including its admission to the Union.

In his old age, he was essentially framed by the federal prosecutors who withheld vital evidence from his defense team. He would be found guilty of corruption in public office just in time to lose his bid for a seventh term in the U.S. Senate.

Eventually he would be vindicated, the charges against him dismissed, and the prosecution disciplined. It all led to the judge in the case, confronted by what had happened in his court, asking whether there was any public integrity in the Justice Department's public integrity section.

The truth does have a way of outing. But by the time it was revealed in Senator Stevens' case, the election was over, and he had lost by a relative handful of votes. The next year the old flyer would die in a fiery plane crash. But here he was at my family reunion.

Sen. Stevens proved only a kind of warm-up act in the dream. He arrived just before my cousin Pinky, the most colorful member of the family and a great raconteur -- a traveling salesman by occupation, avocation and inclination. As usual, he stole the show. He's dead now, too. But he never seemed more vivid in my mind.

On spotting Pinky, I remember being struck by how short he was. Most people were on meeting him -- for about 10 seconds, before his outsize personality took over and he was telling stories, giving inside tips, and generally being the center of delighted attention. It was a pleasure to see him again.

Aunts, uncles, cousins, all manner of kissin' kin in profusion, the quick and the dead, came and went and generally milled about, usually with a drink and plate in hand. I was getting hungry.

Somewhere in the distance, a battery of 105s was firing aimlessly. The battery was lost on maneuvers and it was all my fault. The voice of an ROTC instructor I hadn't heard in 50 years was saying, "And that's when Cadet Greenberg made his fatal error...."

I never figured out what Ted Stevens was doing in the midst of this surreal jumble. He didn't stay long. Indeed, he made only a brief appearance at the outset of the dream and then was gone. He may have been just part of my dreamwork, one function of which is to tidy up the undone business of the day.

As soon as I awoke, I remembered that for some time now I'd been meaning to write a piece in praise of an assistant U.S. attorney by the name of Karen Whatley here in Little Rock.

She'd been in charge of a case against a lawyer who'd been indicted on fraud charges. When a witness unexpectedly revealed that there was a lot more to a file in this case than had come out in court, both the presiding judge and the prosecution swung into action. Counselor Whatley moved that the charges be dismissed, and they were. Promptly and permanently. Case closed.

Quite a contrast with the way some federal prosecutors/persecutors in Alaska treated Ted Stevens, much to their shame. Here in Arkansas, justice was done. And a happy ending declared to a long-running case that had to have caused many a sleepless night for an innocent man. It kind of restores one's faith in the law. At least here in Arkansas.

Not that it wasn't wholly a pleasure, but I don't anticipate seeing Sen. Stevens in any more of my dreams. This matter is closed. And the whole subject off my to-do list.

Thanks for listening, Gentle Reader. It's a lot cheaper than taking my dreams to a therapist.

Paul Greenberg Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

© 2010 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles