Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 17, 2013/ 7 Iyar, 5773

My Bill Mauldin story, or: A tale of two vets

By Paul Greenberg




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Dear Vet,

Thanks for the memories, specifically the biographical sketch of Bill Mauldin, the great but never assuming cartoonist for Stars and Stripes during the World War, Act II.

I worked in a cubicle across from his office when I was an editorial writer at the Chicago Daily News in a different life, and he'd found refuge at our sister paper, the Sun-Times.

Those were the days when we had 'em coming and going, morning and evening, the working stiffs on the South Side in the morning, then at the end of the workday the snap-brim commuters on the Chicago and Northwestern in the evening, "Mad Men" types headed back to Golf and Glenview and points upwardly mobile.

I never exchanged more than a respectful nod with Mauldin, not wanting to trouble him. To me he was still the glorious cherub who gave us Willie and Joe, the two dogfaces who were the real faces of his war. And he was still uncompromising -- and giving the brass fits.

The cartoonists were the best parts of the Field papers' opinion section. (Mike Royko, our real star, appeared elsewhere in the Daily News.) The cartoonists, unlike the editorial writers, never had their opinions edited/emasculated. Maybe the front office didn't think cartoonists were sufficiently serious to interfere with. To me they were the most serious part of the paper.

I was tickled when Mauldin backed a rugged old Marine named Paul Douglas for re-election to the U.S. Senate that year against whatever smooth nonentity the Republican elite had put up against him. In 1966, it was little Chuck Percy, who was supposed to have had quite a business career. He struck me as the next generation's version of Thomas E. Dewey.

My boss thoughtfully arranged for me to have lunch with Mr. Percy -- so I would be suitably impressed and wax a little more enthusiastic about Our Candidate.

When I returned, he asked me, expectantly, how I had found Mr. Percy. "Easy," I replied. "I just looked down and there he was."

Neither Paul Douglas' politics -- nor his Keynesian economics -- were mine, but character always counted more than politics with me, which is one reason I'll never understand why people part with friends over political disagreements.

My admiration for Sen. Douglas was scarcely enough to influence the paper's choice of candidates in that election. I still shudder at the memory of those daily editorial conferences, which were never complete until any and all original ideas had been drained of any bite, and sufficiently diluted to achieve the correct degree of blandness that seemed required of our editorials. Until they had the drone of conventional platitudes, the taste of beer gone flat, the sound of sonorous nothings. The best that could be said of them was that they were inoffensive, which is also the worst thing that can be said of an editorial.

As you can imagine, I didn't stay long at the Daily News. I never did learn to hold my mouth right. I did stick it out at the News for a year to the day before heading back to Pine Bluff, Ark., as fast as our old station wagon would get us home. Though make no mistake, we loved Chicago itself, a town that's always been better than its newspapers.

When I got back to Arkansas, my conscience prompted me to write Sen. Douglas a letter saying I was sorry if I'd had any role in the outcome of that election. He replied with a note punched out on an old typewriter, complete with the e's smudged and the o's filled in by years of acquired grime. Its substance: "Don't worry about it, son. I get a lot of letters like that these days."

Paul Douglas, like some great Douglas fir, towered over his colleagues in the Senate and certainly over the Daley gang at city hall. It was only natural that, in an age of mediocrity, he'd lose that election. In part because that giant of the Senate wouldn't turn his back on the grunts in Vietnam, not to mention the Vietnamese who were fighting with us, and join the cut-and-run crowd.

Lest we forget: The experts, the sophisticates, the David Halberstams and Sydney Schanbergs and the rest of the Pulitzer Prize-winning crowd at the New York Times had assured us that it was time America cleared out of Southeast Asia. Then it would get better. ("Indochina without Americans: for most, a better life." --New York Times, April 13, 1975.)

We would leave, all right, and the boat people and "re-education" camps and killing fields would follow. Paul Douglas was never much of one for sophistication. He could just sense what would happen when America withdrew from the world: nothing good. It had happened before, which was why he'd had to fight his war.

What a team they made, grizzled old Sen. Douglas and ever-young cartoonist Mauldin. The old battle-hardened giant with hands the size of catcher's mitts and the baby-faced kid even in middle age.

I better quit now. Just thinking about those two, I'm starting to tear up. And that won't do for an

Inky Wretch

Paul Greenberg Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

© 2010 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast