Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 20, 2007 / 6 Elul, 5767

Leave It to Deaver: ‘Close Reagan aide dies.’ I remember him from high school

By John H. Fund


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Michael Deaver, worked for Ronald Reagan for more than 20 years, was philosophical about being in Reagan's shadow. "My obit will probably say 'Close Reagan Aide Dies,' " he told the Los Angeles Times in 1988. "That doesn't bother me a bit. That's my life."


When Deaver, 69, died Saturday of pancreatic cancer, his obituaries indeed highlighted his longtime association with both Ronald and Nancy Reagan. Historian Douglas Brinkley, who edited the recently released "The Reagan Diaries," says Deaver's "exceedingly close" ties to the Reagans allowed him to "learn how to properly market" the president. "He became one of the greatest crafters of stage designs for a president."


Time magazine dubbed him "the vicar of visuals." Who can forget the backdrop of Reagan calling on Mikhail Gorbachev to "tear down this wall" in front of the Brandenburg Gate, or the stunning cliffs in Normandy during the 40th anniversary of D-Day, as Reagan saluted "the boys of Pointe du Hoc" who had scaled them in the face of withering German fire.


Mike Deaver was always on the lookout for ways to present Ronald Reagan in the best possible light, and I saw that firsthand as a Sacramento high school student during Reagan's last year as California governor.


Reagan, who had come to office in 1967 promising to crack down on campus unrest, frequently clashed with student protesters and hippies. Once Reagan told a crowd that "the last bunch of people here were carrying signs that said 'make love, not war,' but they didn't look capable of doing either."


Yet Reagan was determined to connect with young people. Deaver and his deputy, the late Joe Holmes, came up with the idea that the governor should hold a weekly "news conference" with high school students and answer their questions about state government and national issues. "The theory was that high school students still lived at home with their parents, hadn't been radicalized by liberal professors yet, and still showed some respect to adults," Deaver once told me.


The 30-minute show, "The Governor and the Students," was taped on a weekday after school, then sent to TV stations all over the state for them to air as they wished at no cost. During the program's last year, my civics teacher recommended me as a "panelist" on the show. After the first taping, Deaver pulled me over and asked if I would like to do it again. Flustered, I stuttered "Sure." I wound up appearing on a few more shows asking the governor questions.


Thus began my lifelong fascination with Ronald Reagan. Because the format was informal and low-pressure, he often got off some of his best one-liners and most insightful observations, and a book of the best quotes from the show was later published. "I am often asked what the difference between a small businessman and a big businessman is," he told us once. "My answer is that a big businessman is what a small businessman would be if only the government would get out of the way and leave him alone."


When asked what advice he would give young people on how to get ahead in life, Reagan observed "There is no limit to what a man can do or where he can go if he doesn't care who gets the credit." He said he kept a plaque on his desk with those words to constantly remind him of them. That plaque remained on Reagan's desk when he went to the Oval Office.


Reagan made flubs on occasion. He got a little flustered during the taping of the last show, just a few weeks before he left office as governor. I asked him how he could say he had truly run a conservative administration when he had raised taxes overall, increased the number of state employees, and presided over dramatic growth in the state budget. He gave a somewhat evasive answer that centered on his having a Democratic Legislature for six of his eight years in office.


Afterwards, a couple of my fellow students attacked me for being disrespectful of the governor. Seeing this, Reagan came over and told them to lay off. "I didn't anticipate that question," he told us. He said he had learned a lot since his days as a rookie governor who'd never held public office, and that if he ever ran for something again we'd see he had learned some lessons. Indeed, it turned out that even though during his presidency he similarly failed to convince Democratic legislators to reduce the size of government, he was far more accomplished at implementing his overall goals than he had been as governor.


Reagan wasn't done. With a somewhat impatient Mike Deaver looking on, one of us asked him how he prepared for his speeches. A beaming Reagan sat down and proceeded to explain how he would cram quotes and articles citations on 4-by-6 index cards that he color-coded by issue category. He showed us some of the cards and explained that he could vary their order and selection to create a completely fresh speech from old material. Finally, Reagan had to leave for his next appointment. Deaver turned around as he left with the governor and told us we had just been give n a valuable gift by a master and we should remember it. I did. To this day, I still use Reagan's basic method when preparing my own speeches.


I saw Mike Deaver only sporadically after that. He left the White House in 1985 and ran into legal trouble when he foolishly posed for a Time magazine cover story on the influence of lobbyists in Washington. A subsequent investigation by a special prosecutor led to his conviction for perjury, and he was sentenced to a fine and 1,500 hours of community service. Reagan's recently published diaries notes that the president had wanted to pardon Deaver as he left office in 1989, "but Mike has passed the word that he won't accept a pardon." Deaver went on to rehabilitate himself as the successful head of the Washington office of Edelman International, a top public relations firm.


This spring, Deaver opined on the 2008 presidential field, telling London's Daily Telegraph that, as the paper put it, he saw "the same raw material in Fred Thompson as was perceived in Ronald Reagan." Deaver said of Thompson, "He is very popular in his party. He could change this whole thing and turn this primary system upside down."


Deaver made clear later that while he considered Mr. Thompson "a great guy," he wasn't endorsing him for president. It's unclear if any of the GOP candidates will fulfill the hopes of voters looking for someone with Reagan's qualities. But to the extent they will be trying, they are taking lessons not only from the Gipper but from Mike Deaver, the man who could be called the "director" of the Reagan presidency.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor John H. Fund is author, most recently, of "Stealing Elections: How Voter Fraud Threatens Our Democracy". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.)

Comment on this column by clicking here.

ARCHIVES

© 2006, John H. Fund

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles