Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 3, 2014

Readers' Wisdom

By Sara Noel




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Hydrogen peroxide is cheap and has multiple uses. Combined with baking soda and Dawn dishwashing liquid, it makes a great stain fighter for sweat stains on T-shirts. Simply apply 1/2 teaspoon of Dawn on each underarm section of the shirt, 2 tablespoons of hydrogen peroxide on each side, sprinkle on some baking soda and scrub with a nylon scrub brush. Then launder as usual.

The first reader tip shares more ideas for hydrogen peroxide:

Hydrogen peroxide: It's not just for streaking your hair anymore! I'm allergic to a lot of cleaning products (ammonia and Pine-Sol give me an instant sinus infection) and I would get sinus and breathing problems when I cleaned house. It was always a major undertaking to find products that didn't bother me much. Hydrogen peroxide has no odor, and it disinfects. I started using it for quick bathroom cleanups. Then I discovered that it works great for cleaning glass and mirrors. Next, I tried it on spots on my carpet, and it worked great (color-test first, but I've never had a problem with it taking color out).

I have spray bottles of it all over the house now. Just spray some on a stain on the carpet and let it sit for a minute or two, then wipe with a cloth. I spray my countertop in the kitchen each day, and it not only disinfects, it also puts a shine on if you dry it well.

If you get stains on your teeth from drinking coffee, you can brush your teeth with hydrogen peroxide. After a couple of times, it gets rid of the stains. Some people mix it with baking soda to brush teeth. -- Celine, Missouri



Competitor's coupons: Craft stores such as Joann and Michaels accept competitor's coupons. Somebody always has a 40- or 50-percent-off coupon for the week, so you should never get stuck buying at full price. -- C.H., Missouri

Use your phone: I downloaded the apps for the supermarkets I like to shop at on my Android phone. I go through their specials each week and click on the ones to add to my shopping list. One other thing I do is take a photo of my pantry and fridge before I go shopping. I do this if I haven't had the time to write a shopping list. Then I just look at the photos to see what I have or don't have. -- Brilly, forums

Air freshener: Take a used dryer sheet and put some essential oil/candle fragrance, etc. on it. Place it on your air/heating conditioner filter. The house smells nice for much cheaper than canned air fresheners. When it fades, add more oil, or replace it with a new sheet if it has helped filter dust and dirt. -- Krickit, email

Dish squeegee: I got a Dish Squeegee scraper tool as a gift. I thought it was something that I'd never use, but I love using it to scrape my dishes before washing them. While a rubber spatula can work almost as well, I like that the squeegee doesn't have a handle and you don't need to pre-rinse dishes. I use it to scrape crumbs from my counter and table, too. -- Janice, Ohio

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

To comment or ask a question, please click here.


© 2009, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast