Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 29, 2013/ 26 Kislev, 5774

The Turkey Meets A Latke

By Suzanne Fields




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Thanksgiving is a wonderful holiday because it brings families and friends together for the simple purpose of giving thanks and being together. The holiday commemorates the tales of our forefathers as we rejoice with loved ones and catch up with the family gossip.

The kids learn how we called the first Americans "Indians" because the first Europeans on these shores thought they had landed in India and expected to trade for jewels, silks and spices. Instead they found natives who didn't have the wheel or a written language.

The earliest forefathers, who landed at Plymouth seeking religious freedom, were considerably less materialistic than the Spanish conquistadores to the south, and not nearly as dour in dark clothes as depicted in textbooks. Their clothes came in many colors as bright as the diverse threads, beads and feathers worn by the Indians who greeted them. Gov. William Bradford even had a red suit and purple cape (for special occasions, no doubt). The early Plymouth settlers lived by the Book and endured a life of hardship to work and worship as they pleased. But they brewed beer and hunted and fished for pleasure as well as food.

Between their first feast of wild turkeys shot with guns they brought with them from Europe and today's mass-produced, store-bought birds served with sweet potatoes topped with marshmallows, there's a long history of immigrants seeking freedom from prejudice and opportunities for a better future. The holiday celebrates the new life in the new world and its abundance as well as the conflicts that drive history. Abraham Lincoln proclaimed the first day to give thanks in the midst of the civil war that defines us as a nation.

This year, Hanukkah, an eight-day holiday for Jews, bumped into Thanksgiving and expands multi-cultural celebration. The highlight of Hanukkah is the lighting of a menorah with candles for eight days as a reminder of a miracle in the second century Before the Common Era when a lamp in the restored temple in Jerusalem with just enough oil to burn for one night burned for eight days.

By some estimates, Hanukkah, based on the lunar calendar, and Thanksgiving will not fall together again for 75,000 years. There are all kinds of suggestions for fusing the symbols for once in a lot of lifetimes. Some suggest shaping the menorah into a turkey, surrounded by pumpkin latkes, not of potatoes, and even calling the holiday "Thanksgivukkah."



Some of the secular among us want to emphasize America's flaws, the treatment of the Indians, scolding the Founding Fathers, who, after all, owned slaves and making it a day not of celebration, but a day of collective shame. They're oblivious to the gifts of those Founding Fathers who wrote a Constitution that enables us to right wrongs and to rise above past faults and injustice to welcome the new waves of newcomers in search of a better life.

Nearly everyone has a story to tell.

When my parents bought a house in the nation's capital in 1946, they were told there was an old and no longer valid covenant in the deed prohibiting the sale of the house to Jews. When my parents moved in, their neighbors, with not a Jew among them, brought over homemade pies and cakes to welcome them. If my grandfather had stayed in Lithuania, his entire family would likely have been killed by the Nazis. He never forgot that America had taken in his family, six children and a seventh who was born here, and how they prospered.

When I was a little girl my grandfather gave me a silver dollar each night of Hanukkah. One year he gave me a menorah shaped like the six-pointed Jewish star with tiny electric bulbs. He told me to turn it on when I recited my prayer over the lights. I was horrified that it would replace my grandmother's graceful antique brass menorah with its tiny delicate candles. But I never let on. He was so proud of his gift, and particularly because it was "made in America."

I knew nothing of the old world he had left behind and how a menorah with electric lights meant freedom and prosperity to him. He knew his adopted country wasn't perfect and that it hadn't taken in all the Jews who were trying to escape the Holocaust. He knew that anti-Semitism might once have kept his daughter out of the neighborhood where she wanted to live. But he also understood how his adopted country worked to right its wrongs.

Every night of Hanukkah during this Thanksgiving season I will turn on an electric bulb, rather than light a candle, and give thanks for being here. So America isn't perfect, but it's perfect enough for me. Happy Thanksgivukkah.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR contributor Suzanne Fields' column by clicking here.

Up

Suzanne Fields Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate, Suzanne Fields

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast