Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 19, 2006 / 27 Tishrei, 5767

War becomes more than a game

By Suzanne Fields


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When my mother saw her first telephone she was a little girl growing up in a tiny village in rural Canada, 90 miles west of Toronto. Hers was the first family to own the newfangled contraption with a small earpiece and a round black speaking spout attached to a box. When her father, out in the wild buying skins from trappers, called home she was mystified. She asked her mother: "How could Daddy fit into that little box?"


That was then. Now the young size up prospective dates and mates by watching their videos, stroll down the street talking into the air and send instant text messages to friends three continents away. When I was a little girl, I never thought anything in my life would sound as primitive to the next generation as my mother's experience with the telephone sounded to me. But when I tell my grandsons, ages 7 and 10, how my family sat around a radio as tall as they are, listening in the dark to scary stories on "Inner Sanctum" and "The Shadow," they think I'm from a pre-historic tribe.


They can't believe that once upon a time television wasn't 24/7 and all you could see after midnight was a test pattern that never moved. I became a living embarrassment when they learned that I tuned into YouTube for the first time last week after I read it was worth $1.65 billion to Google. I understand the narcissism of those who want to spread themselves across a computer screen, but I don't understand why anyone wants to watch them.


I was about to lose all credibility until I gave my grandsons an electronic war game they persuaded me was "educational." The game features graphic violence, with blood spilling across the screen as men kill each other. But it's blood with a point, all about World War II. It can't be bad when it gets us all, parents and friends and friends of parents, talking about real history.


They learned how the Allies gave Field Marshal Erwin Rommel — "the Desert Fox" — a hard time in North Africa when the war was not going well for the Allies anywhere else. The game describes the crossing of the Mediterranean into Sicily and then on to Italy. They learn how foolish Hitler was to invade Russia: "Didn't he learn anything from Napoleon?" Then we went to the library to take out books describing strategy, tactics and weapons. The boys quickly became fascinated with Douglas MacArthur and Winston Churchill, so we found biographies written especially for children. Their curiosity expanded exponentially.


Now they easily recite the names of the five invasion beaches at Normandy. They understand the difficulty of Gen. Eisenhower's decision to go forward with the invasion despite a less than perfect weather report: "It couldn't be a full moon, which would be too bright, or a new moon, which would be too dark."


Dramatic anecdotes punctuate our discussions of Gen. George S. Patton's infamous slap of a soldier heard 'round the world, of Rommel's miscalculation of the timing of the Normandy invasion that began while he was in Berlin delivering shoes from a Paris shop to his wife for her birthday. These incidents are not in the game, and a little extra reading humanizes the leaders.


The game enables them to take pride in the bravery of our soldiers as they move electronically up the cliffs of Pointe du Hoc. This is the war up close and it's not pretty, no matter how detailed the background pictures are, but the game makes more sense than those animated comedies and comics where danger and death are reduced to a brightly colored cartoon.


Interspersed between the game's violent scenes are footnotes to the meaning of war, of Robert E. Lee's remark at Fredericksburg as he watched the mighty armies of the Blue and the Gray gathering below Marye's Heights: "It is well that war is so terrible — lest we should grow too fond of it."


Video games can be mindlessly escapist, desensitizing children to blood and gore, and must be closely monitored lest children play only games instead of thinking about the world they inhabit. But some of the new war games rely on facts and context as well as dexterity. The U.S. military uses video games to train soldiers in specific skills, the careful handling of weapons, in critical thinking, the importance of teamwork, of knowing when, and when not, to shoot.


Process is as important as content. The games require patience and an appreciation for delayed gratification. It ain't chess, but it ain't bad.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR contributor Suzanne Fields' column by clicking here.

Up

Suzanne Fields Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate, Suzanne Fields

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles