Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 8, 2011 6 Tamuz, 5771

Shaping Citizens, Saving Souls

By Suzanne Fields




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A neighbor of mine, age 15, left the picnic on the Fourth of July expecting to set off fireworks in the family. He had a declaration of his own: "I'm off to play one of those violent video games the Supreme Court says are protected by my First Amendment rights."

He got a groan or two (probably less than he had hoped for), but one of the grown-ups expressed the hopeful view: "Well, at least the Bill of Rights has got his attention." Between the parades and the pyrotechnics that light up night skies above purple mountain majesties and fruited plain, we usually pay scant attention to the truths and values that bind us together as a nation.

When I wrote of the lack of learning of the nation's history by most of our schoolchildren, someone sent me a book titled, "What So Proudly We Hail: the American Soul in Story, Speech and Song." It contains documents that were once our common heritage but have been all but lost along the way.

Amy and Leon Kass and Diane Schaub have high hopes for their book: "Its ultimate goal, stated without apology, is to produce better patriots and better citizens, men and women knowingly and thoughtfully attached to our country, devoted to its ideals and eager to live an active civic life." They worry about the effect of cynicism and apathy of Americans watching politicians strut across the public stage. Many of us no longer thrive in the robust civic engagement flowing from a sense of who we are and how we got that way.

We've always had to endure endless backbiting and mudslinging of seekers of office, but our sense of the American character, our national identity, was once secure in the schools, expressed in ways as simple as requiring one and all to memorize Lincoln's "Gettysburg Address." (Do any teachers do that anymore?)

With the omniscient technology of the social media, which emphasizes spontaneity, fragmentation and the flaws of public officials, we're losing sight of the "specialness" of a nation dedicated to "a government of the people, by the people, for the people."


BUY THE BOOK AT A 35% DISCOUNT

Click HERE to purchase it. (Sales help fund JWR.)



President Calvin Coolidge succinctly summed up the American experience on the occasion of the nation's sesquicentennial in 1926: "Governments don't make ideals, but ideals make governments."

For one short moment, immediately following the election of President Obama, the nation enjoyed a widespread unifying elation, a sense of pride and purpose that a nation born with slavery had sent a black man to the White House to represent us all. Even the many who didn't agree with his politics appreciated the remarkable milestone. Now we're suffering from an economic crisis that creates new animosities to challenge American solidarity.

It's no coincidence that the tea party movement took its name from rebellious colonists to encourage the nation back to unifying ideals. But life in this country is more complex than ever before — the recession and a world economy weaken ties to pride of place. Appeals to "global humanity" are abstractions without content. Economic failures — as well as individual successes — divide and challenge the political system in new ways.

The natural divisions of competing local, county, state and national interests are increasingly riven with conflict over economic and social issues as well as foreign policy. We observe this at work when Republican presidential candidates try to appeal to different constituencies with competing interests. This makes it harder but no less crucial to unify the nation.

The editors of "What So Proudly We Hail" have gathered documents that run the table of political persuasions, addressing conservatives and liberals, Republicans and Democrats, North and South, East and West. This might not tell readers who to put in office next year, but it will help them decide what they want the chosen to do.

"Developing robust and committed American citizens is a matter of both heart and the head," write the editors. The stories they chose to tell are meant to be inspirational and intellectual, as they examine the profound truths as well as the flaws and vulnerabilities that unite us. These include works of poets and philosophers, soldiers and politicians that appeal to our "moral imaginations," from Mark Twain's folksy insights to Gen. George S. Patton's "eloquent obscenities" in a speech to his soldiers on the eve of battle in World War II.

Here are the soul-shaping words that remind us that appeals to patriotism — love of country — can't be limited to special occasions. They lead us to ask ourselves anew how a nation "so conceived and so dedicated can long endure."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR contributor Suzanne Fields' column by clicking here.

Up

Suzanne Fields Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate, Suzanne Fields

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles