Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 17, 2014 / 19 Tammuz, 5774

Will Eric Holder Ever Run Out of Race Cards?

By Larry Elder




JewishWorldReview.com | Attorney General Eric Holder, in a recent interview, reiterates the theme heard from the very beginning of President Barack Obama's administration: opposition to Obama's agenda equals racism. "There's a certain level of vehemence, it seems to me, that's directed at me (and) directed at the president."

What is Holder's proof -- to the extent that any is required?

After all, following his election, Obama's favorable ratings reached nearly 80 percent, higher than any president-elect since John F. Kennedy. Obama, in 2008, received a greater percentage of the "white vote" than did John Kerry.

Polls, studies and statistics, for Holder, aren't relevant when it comes to racism. Some claim to possess "gaydar," an ability to discern the sexual orientation of a gay person. Holder, it seems, possesses the instinctive ability to discern "racists."

Holder added, "You know, people talking about taking their country back. ... There's a certain racial component to this for some people. I don't think this is the thing that is a main driver, but for some there's a racial animus."

Is Holder truly suggesting opponents disguise their racial animus through rhetoric like, "taking their country back"? Where have we heard the assertion that the take-back-America slogan equals racism?

Ben Jealous, the former president and CEO of the NAACP, made the same argument back in 2010. "They use this rhetoric," said Jealous, "'take back our country' -- as if nobody else belongs to the country. ... They question the nationality of people of color from the President all the way down. And it's deeply, deeply disturbing."

But CNN's Anderson Cooper played Jealous a montage of Democratic politicians using the very same rhetoric:

Then-presidential candidate Howard Dean, 2003: "Today, we stand in common purpose to take our country back!"

Then-presidential candidate Sen. John Kerry, 2004: "To take back our country ... "

Sen. Charles Schumer, N.Y., 2006: "We are going to take our country back!"

Then-presidential candidate Sen. Barack Obama, 2007: "It's going to be because of you that we take our country back."

Then-presidential candidate Sen. Hillary Clinton, 2008: "To make sure we take our country back ... "

New Mexico's Gov. Bill Richardson, 2008: "Are you ready to take our country back?"

Then-Minnesota senatorial candidate Al Franken, 2008: "This is the year we take our country back."

Harvard law professor and defense attorney Alan Dershowitz made the same rhetoric-equals-racism argument back in 1998, only he objected the way the "right wing" refers to themselves as "real Americans." For example, a former Southern Republican criticized Dershowitz by saying, "Real America understands that the Constitution is there for a reason."

To this Dershowitz responded, "Whenever I hear the words 'real Americans,' that sounds to me like a code word for racism, a code word for bigotry, a code word for anti-Semitism." We go again to the videotape:

Then-President Bill Clinton, 1995: "Look, I know America first and foremost is a place where individual effort and family values count. That's why I am successful. But I live in the real America -- not in Washington, D.C."

Then-President Clinton, 1997: "Remember how you have seen things like that during the natural disasters here in California. That is the face of the real America. That is the face I have seen over and over again. That is the America somehow, some way, we have to make real in daily American life."

Then-President Clinton, 1998: "America's got a good agenda in the coming months. We can be for saving Social Security first, better schools, a cleaner environment, and a Patient's Bill of Rights, and we can sell that in every place in America. They are real choices real Americans face in this election."

Then-first lady Hillary Rodham Clinton, 1994: "They have enabled this day to come about, because they were willing to think differently, to put people first, to solve real problems that real Americans face every day."

Then-House Minority Leader Rep. Richard Gephardt, Mo., 1998: "We will carry on this fight every day of the rest of this year to fight for the real issues that real Americans care about so deeply."

Speaking of race, Attorney General Holder said, "The greatest threats (posed by racism) do not announce themselves in screaming headlines. They are more subtle. They cut deeper ... and ... are more pernicious." Holder offered three specific examples of "subtle," "deep," "pernicious" racism.

What are they? One, the push by some states for voter ID. Two, that black men receive longer prison sentences compared to white men for same crime. Third, that black kids are expelled/suspended at higher rates compared to white students.

In the case of voter ID, blacks support the requirement almost as much as do whites. Prison sentences are based, in part on arrests, something juries are unusually barred from hearing about. As for suspensions, schools in both liberal and conservative areas experience the same thing -- black boys disproportionately expelled.

Blame bad behavior, lack of discipline at home or fatherless homes. But blaming the consequences of bad behavior on "pernicious" racism does damage to growth and personal responsibility. Nice work, Mr. Holder.

Larry Elder Archives

JWR contributor Larry Elder is the author of, most recently, "Stupid Black Men: How to Play the Race Card--and Lose."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


© 2014 Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast