Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 30, 2011/ 4 Teves, 5772

Good riddance . . . and welcome

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The new year is 2012. Sounds pretty new, alright. You can say it two ways. Twenty-twelve. Or two-thousand and twelve. I kind of like the second version because it sounds like more (even though the correct way would be twenty-twelve). This is the time of year when commentators in the papers and on TV like to do two things: review what has transpired in the year that has past; and make predictions on what will happen in the year to come. Let's start with the past.

Everyone does a list of famous people who have passed away in the last 12 months, so I'd like to do something a little different - the following is my partial list of those who have NOT passed away in 2011. Donald Trump, Diane Sawyer, Matt Damon, Angelina Jolie, Britney Spears, Brad Pitt, Tiger Woods, Nicole Kidman, Ben Stiller, Hillary Rodham Clinton, Madonna, Barney Frank, Sean Penn, and Daniel Craig. There are several others, of course, but as I said, this was a partial list.

Now let's get back to those famous people who HAVE passed away. We can list them in two distinct groups: The "we will miss you" group, and the "good riddance" group. First the "good riddance" group: Kim Jong ll, Osama bin Laden, and Muammar Khaddafi (there's probably more, but those are the big three). "We will miss you" group includes Steve Jobs, Elizabeth Taylor, Peter Falk, Betty Garrett, Jane Russell, Jackie Cooper, James Arness, and Sidney Lumet.

The coming year could prove to be interesting. We might get a new president, a new Senate, and a new lease on life for our sagging economy and unemployed. Or we might not. One thing is for sure, the elections of 2012 will determine the direction of our nation for many decades to come. Will we get back to the basic tenets of our founding fathers or will we go even further left than we have, bringing us closer to a socialist European way of life? This will be determined in November. Be careful what you vote for.

2012 will mark the one hundredth anniversary of: the sinking of the Titanic, the state of New Mexico, the abdication of the last Chinese emperor, the invention of the Dixie cup, Fenway Park, the Beverly Hills Hotel, the publication of Edgar Rice Burroughs' "Tarzan of the Apes," and the first Keystone Kops movie. The first streetcars took to the streets of San Francisco one hundred years ago too.

In my family there is cause for celebration since 2012 is a leap year and it means that my nephew, Adam, will actually have a real birthday for the first time in seven years. According to Wikipedia, there are a variety of popular beliefs about the year 2012. These beliefs range from the spiritually transformative to the apocalyptic, and center upon various interpretations of the Mesoamerican Long Count calendar.

According to the Bible Code the world will end due to a collision with a meteor or comet. On the other hand, December 21 is slated to be the end of the great cycle of the Maya calendar's Long Count, and therefore the alleged end of our world (the end of the cycle is dated December 23 by some calculations). Also interpreted as a change in human consciousness: the end of the world as we know it but the start of a new one.

On a happier note, 2012 will be when the first quad-core smartphones will become available, whatever the heck they are. And that's not all, ready? Sequoia, a proposed super computer built by IBM for the National Nuclear Security Administration will be completed, reaching a peak performance of 20 Petaflops. That's right, I said Petaflops! Wanna make something out of it?

So depending what you believe, maybe the November elections won't mean very much after all. Listen, if the world comes to an end due to a meteor, comet or whatever, then you might as well vote for Ron Paul … or the Mario Brothers, or even the Marx Brothers, which would be in keeping with Obama's direction for the country. Happy New Year? Well, let's hope so. We can always keep our fingers crossed.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles