Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 24, 2010 / 17 Teves, 5771

Auld Lang Syne

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "New Year's Day: Now is the accepted time to make your regular annual good resolutions. Next week you can begin paving hell with them as usual." ~Mark Twain

As we approach the end of another year our thoughts turn to times past and we start to wax nostalgic. Auld lang syne. Times long past. We think of people we've known, people who have gone out of our lives, either by drifting away, by moving on, or by death. We think of family, friends, and our dear pets. We remember loved ones who are gone, we recall the way they looked, the way they spoke and the way they laughed. A laugh is just as individual as fingerprints. No two are exactly alike.

For whatever reason, one of the cruel jokes of the human condition is the assumption that certain things will always be there for us. Intellectually of course we know that nothing lasts forever, but in the din of our busy lives we forget. Well, we don't really forget exactly, we forget to appreciate what we have when we have it. We take for granted that mom will always be there for us, waiting with a smile. We take for granted that dad will help us get through any of life's problems. Don't worry, dad will know what to do. Our sister, our brother, yes, they're always around. Always just a phone call away. Really? Always? Forever?

For those of us of a certain age some things were taken as givens. We just assumed that The Ed Sullivan Show would always be on television Sunday evenings and The Tonight Show with Johnny Carson would always be on every week night. I never doubted that general interest magazines such as The Saturday Evening Post, Look, and Life would for all time be available at any newsstand. Never mind the magazines, what happened to the newsstands?

I never considered that major department stores like Bullocks, I. Magnin, Robinsons, and The May Co. would someday be gone. How could all these big department stores disappear? Even Chicago's Marshall Fields is gone. Did anyone 15 years ago think that record stores would be a thing of the past? Now it seems that book stores are on the endangered list.

Times long past. Who knew that the movie industry would stop making cowboy pictures? Did anyone 10 years ago believe that finding a telephone booth in a large city would almost be impossible? The things you think will last forever will not. Everything has a self life. Just like a container of milk, your mother, your husband, your wife, and yes, even you will all expire someday. Happy New Year, are you deeply depressed yet? Well, don't be. That's life.

The important thing is to appreciate. Appreciate what you have now. Sure, think of times long past. Auld lang syne. Remember those wonderful old times. Remember your loved ones who are gone and miss them. Have a good cry. But then don't forget to appreciate the loved ones who are still with you now. Call your friends and get together with them. Spend time with your family. Enjoy what you have and who you have. Do something nice for someone. Hug your son. Kiss your mom. Laugh with your brother.

The end of the old year is a good time to reminisce but at the stroke of midnight a new year will begin and New Year's is the time for beginnings, not endings. Begin this year with love and appreciation for the family, friends, and pets that you have. Like the proverbial annual resolution, none of them will last forever, but if you make the most of them while you have them, then your New Year's cup will be full for the entire year.

Happy 2011!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles