Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov 30, 2012/ 16 Kislev, 5773

Fireplace Humbug

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Slowly but surly all the little pleasures of my life are being eroded away. I used to enjoy smoking cigarettes, I mean I really enjoyed it, enjoyed everything about it, but I had to quit because I knew deep down (in my lungs) it wasn't a good thing for me given my family's health history. So about 17 years ago I stopped smoking cigarettes. Once upon a time I used to date a variety of women, but my wife put a stop to that when we got married 34 years ago. Isn't that just like a wife? Never wanting a guy to enjoy himself.

I still have a drink every now and then, but not nearly as often as I used to when I was a much younger whipper. The body changes with age and I find I can't tolerate alcohol as much as I once could. Don't get me wrong, I can still fire up a wicked Martini on a chilly wintery evening. This brings me to one other pleasure that appears to be going away - the pleasure of a crackling fire on a cold night. This disappearing pleasure has nothing to do with my age and everything to do with the environmental Nazis in our so called "liberal" society.

Last week Los Angeles had a first. We had a no-burn ban in Los Angeles and the San Fernando Valley. No fires allowed in your home fireplace for a 24 hour period. The fine folks at the Air Quality Management District made the determination that an unusual smog pattern prompted air pollution warnings in the downtown Los Angeles area and most of the San Fernando Valley. Burn your wood, go to jail. Well, maybe not jail, but a stiff fine. Fines for breaking the ban can run from $50-$500.

"This is the first time AQMD has issued this type of order under this program,'' agency spokesman Sam Atwood said. ``It's our first mandatory no-burn order for the affected area.'' Last fall the AQMD enacted new air pollution rules giving it the power to put out all wood burning fires, indoors and out. But it isn't the pollution in the air (although they play that card too); it is the danger to lungs that has officials ordering L.A.'s first no-burn order, and the fact that we had an "unusual weather pattern."

"It happens when the weather conditions become stagnant and sometimes fog can contribute to it but the reason is to protect the health of the millions of people who breathe in the Los Angeles basin," said good old Sam Atwood. Having Big Brother watching out for my lungs makes me feel so warm and cozy, almost like having a fire in the fireplace. No-burn alerts are more common in northern and central California. However, the AQMD says it expects to issue about 10-15 alerts in Southern California this winter. Happy Holidays!

And if you think this is just a local issue, think again. The Feds have their greasy paws in it too. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has proclaimed wood smoke emissions to be one of the most significant health risks in the U.S. The environmentalist lobby and the "global warming" crowd are in this thing along with the government bullies.

These fine folks who are "only looking out for the welfare of all" have attempted to make burning wood in a home fireplace something of a social stigma, saying that fireplaces contribute negatively to the earth's "carbon footprint." "The smoke from a fire smells very nice but it can cause a lot of harm," said Diane Bailey, a senior scientist with the Natural Resources Defense Council in San Francisco.

"The tiny particles can cause inflammation and illness, and can cross into the bloodstream, triggering heart attacks as well as worsening other conditions," she claims. Another tree-hugger, Starre Vartan, a 33-year-old blogger who goes by the name Eco-Chick, put it like this, "Any time you are burning wood or cow dung, you'll be creating pollution. It's like junk food: if you do it once a month, then who cares? But if it's something you do every day, it's important that you mitigate it somehow. It's a hazard."

The environmentalists equate burning wood in one's home fireplace with smoking cigarettes and organizations like the American Lung Association are issuing warnings as well: the group recommends that consumers avoid wood fires altogether, citing research that names wood stoves and fireplaces as major contributors to particulate-matter air pollution in much of the United States.

Forget the "war on women" we have a "war on fireplaces." You can find plenty of fireplace haters on the web. TheDailyGreen.com, an online magazine, has advocated replacing all wood-burning fireplaces with electric ones, and last fall an article on the Web site GreenBlizzard.com, "Cozy Winter Fires - Carbon Impact," called wood-burning fires "a direct pollutant to you, your family and your community."

So one of my last little pleasures, enjoying a comforting fire in my fireplace during the cold winter months is under attack from the Left. I want to say, "You people won the presidential election, now just leave me alone!" But that's not what the Left is about. They're about NOT leaving anyone alone, ever. They will impose their regulations and laws on us "for our own good." Whether we want them or not.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast