Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 23, 2012/ 9 Kislev, 5773

Stories

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Human beings love stories. The human mind manufactures them for us every night, they're called dreams. But that's not enough for us. We read stories in books, magazines, on line, and in the papers every day.

We watch stories unfold in the movies, on television, while riding on a train or on an airplane, or just going to the store. And when we're not reading stories or watching stories our minds go right back to the manufacturing plant and we "think" stories. Sorting out the day's events, deciding how to spend our money, wondering where to go on vacation or what we might do next Saturday afternoon - these are all little short stories. Stories are a part of our lives every single day.

You wake up in the morning and think about what your day will be like, how you should dress, what you need to do. You're writing the story of your day ahead. You sit up all night waiting for your daughter to get home from an evening out with her friends and your mind writes scenarios, some good, and some maybe not so good. You can't help yourself, you write stories in your head. The human brain requires stories, I guess. And it seems to be out of our conscious control.

Stories are all around us. Sitting in a restaurant we look around and make up stories of the people we see in there - this couple just walking in are on their honeymoon, that woman in the corner all alone has just escaped form an asylum, those two guys in the booth are rock musician wannabes, the guy sitting at the counter thinks he's George Clooney. Wonder what stories people are making up about us?

Humans gravitate to other humans based on their "stories." We meet new people and want to find out all about them. The people who have just moved in next door, the new hire in the office, the students in your new class at school - what are their stories? Who are these people? You start going out with a new girl and you want to find out her back-story, where she came from, what she likes, what she thinks about. The stories behind the people we meet influence our opinions of them.

We vote for politicians based on the stories they tell us about themselves and the stories others tell about them. Are they married? What are their views on social issues? Foreign policy? Are they liberal, moderate, or conservative? What is their voting record? What have they accomplished? What is their overview on America? In what direction will they take the country? The story of their lives up to this point gives us a pretty good idea of what we can expect from them going forward.

All of human history is nothing else but stories after all. That is literally what history is…his story. Storytellers have always been valuable and the really good storytellers are priceless. Storytellers give us the perspective and tradition of humankind. And when the stories happen to be of the funny type, it's even better.

One of the all time best storytellers was a man called Myron Cohen. Myron was a stand up comedian who never did one-liners, he didn't tell jokes, he told stories, really funny stories. I remember watching him on TV in the fifties and sixties on the Ed Sullivan Show. He'd have my dad in stitches.

Of course there were other comics who told funny stories, but none of them could put them over the way Myron Cohen did.

Much of Myron Cohen's charm had to do with his gentle, low key demeanor. Never mugging or engaging in sound effects or props, Cohen simply stood on stage telling his stories in a quiet, soft spoken voice. Although he did many accents, his stories usually involved Jewish people and his Yiddish dialect was hysterical. One of his famous Jewish dialect "stories" is as follows:

"The U.S. Census Bureau is conducting an actuarial survey on the Lower East Side. The gentleman from Washington knocks on a door, the door opens, and there stands this nice little Jewish man in his 80's. He says, 'Sir, we understand you've lived here for many years. What is the death rate in this area?' The man thinks for a moment and replies, "Vell, in mine opinion… don't hold me to dis, but in mine opinion… I'm pretty sure it's one to a person."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast