Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 8, 2013/ 5 Kislev, 5774

Call him what he is: Our Liar in Chief

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Headin' for the last roundup. The big sleep. The long goodbye. Deep-six. Pushin' up daisies. Kicked the bucket. Bought the farm. Passed on. We use euphemisms such as these because we can't bear to use the words die or death. Dying is a concept most people don't want to think about, understandably, so using nicer sounding terms is easier to take. But those terms don't change what death is. Death is death no matter what you want to call it.

The same goes for other euphemistic terms. You can change what you call a thing but the thing is still what it is. As Shakespeare famously put it, "That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet." Conversely, that which we call sewage by any other name would still stink to high heaven. And this brings me to Barak Obama and his honorable promises.

In selling his mandatory Obamacare health plan to the American people, Obama has been saying over and over again since 2009 that if you like your doctor you can keep your doctor and if you like your current health care plan you can keep your health care plan. Period. He has been saying it again and again for years using the exact same phrase. The following is a direct quote from his speech to the annual meeting of the American Medical Association on June 15, 2009:

"No matter how we reform health care, we will keep this promise: If you like your doctor, you will be able to keep your doctor. Period. If you like your health care plan, you will be able to keep your health care plan. Period. No one will take it away. No matter what. My view is that health care reform should be guided by a simple principle: fix what's broken and build on what works." He lied. He lied in 2009. He lied in 2010. He lied in 2011. He lied in 2012. And he's lying now.

There are still some people who refuse to use the "L" word. Some politicians, broadcasters and pundits won't go near the word; I guess they believe that saying Obama LIED is tantamount to calling him a racial epithet or something. But it is what it is. You can say he "misled," or you can say he was "disingenuous" or you can say he was less than truthful. You can use a million euphemisms for it, but it all adds up to the same thing, the man is a liar.



And this time Obama can't pretend that he didn't know anything as he's done for every scandal that has arisen during his administration, from the justice department Fast and Furious gun-running, to Benghazi, to the IRS conservative targeting scandal, to the Healthcare.gov. website failure. This time Obama OWNS this debacle. The so-called Affordable Healthcare Act is Obama's big legacy for better or worse and he has built his entire presidency around it.

He always knew it was a lie when he looked into the camera and told us we could keep our doctors if we wanted to and we could keep our insurance plans if we wanted to. He knew damn well it was a lie, he also knew that if he didn't lie about it, there was a strong chance that he couldn't get the bill passed. He certainly wouldn't have had the support of the majority of Americans who were already on healthcare plans and satisfied with what they had.

He knew he was lying because he knew that his healthcare scheme simply couldn't work if people were allowed to keep their current insurance and doctors. The entire working middleclass needs to be forced into the government system in order for it to pay for healthcare for the people who don't work. Otherwise the pyramid scheme caves in. It was never about "lower healthcare costs for all of us" it was always about taking from the healthy workers to pay for the poor sick non-workers.

But Obama couldn't say that. So he lied.

Thanks to Obamacare many millions of people are losing their doctors and current health insurance and are being forced into the new system which they can't even get into because of website snafus. Even once they get on, for many it will mean paying more money for inadequate or unnecessary coverage. Some people will have a lag time between insurance coverage, for those with catastrophic illnesses it is literally a case of life or death.

In the midst of the Iraqi war, leftists' favorite bumper sticker was, "Bush Lied, People Died." That was itself a lie, Bush never knowingly lied about WMDs, but to the devoted leftist, it didn't matter. The horrible irony is, we now have a leftist president who really did knowingly lie about Obamacare and there is a very strong possibility that many American people will die because of it.

And if the word die bothers you, just say, kicked the bucket or passed on.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast