Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct 25, 2011 / 27 Tishrei, 5772

Hitting the Road

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | You hear it all the time. Unemployment is high. Jobs are hard to get. There's no work to be had. You can't find a job anywhere. Want to work? Well, I've got the job for you. If you can get on with a road crew you will have plenty of work on our nation's highways. Did you know that there is no state in the union, not a one, without major highway construction going on right now? I know this first hand, having just gotten back from an extended driving trip back and forth across the country.

From California to Pennsylvania, from Michigan to Utah, here wasn't one state we drove through in the last month that didn't have some kind of construction work happening on the interstates. We saw more orange cones (and they're bigger now, no more of those little dunce cap things) than we saw wheat and corn fields, and we saw plenty of those. "Road Work Next 10 Miles" signs shot up all along our routes. Early morning, late afternoon, rain or shine, it was road work everywhere.

We hit the worst one in Utah going through a national park. We were told at the ranger's gate as we entered that there was a bit of road work going on, that there might be as much as a half an hour delay because of it. Well, once we got half way through, WHAM! We were stopped dead for more than an hour. The line up of cars snaked all the way down the mountain pass. Nothing to do except turn off the engine and sit.

The highway work never dampened our spirits however. The trip was one of our best adventures across the country. I mean how we could complain when we discovered two of the all time best frozen custard stands in the nation, visited Jimmy Stewart's hometown, had some unforgettable meals in local restaurants from coast to coast, experienced Niagara Falls up close and personal, made friends with a real cowboy, rediscovered small town America, stayed at a 100 year-old ranch in Wyoming, had ice cream in Columbus, Indiana at a faithfully restored 1900 ice cream parlor complete with real marble soda fountains - the last of its kind in the country.

The reason for the trip was to attend the bar mitzvah of one of our nephews, Maxwell Marcus in Harrisburg, PA. Jane and I were honored to be part of the ceremony and so proud listening to him reciting from the Torah in Hebrew. The coming of age of a boy to a man is an important step in a young man's life of course, but beyond that, it's a celebration of Jewish tradition. It's also the celebration of family, or should be. The pride that the family feels in watching their little boy becoming a man is one of those once-in-a-lifetime special things.

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon and spent the following four days with family, leaving on the next Tuesday for Niagara Falls.

We stayed on the Canadian side of the Falls, and yes, Canada had road work on their highways too. The difference was that their road work signs were in both English and French, eh. If you have never seen Niagara Falls you have missed something truly awesome. Like the Grand Canyon, it needs to be seen in person to be really appreciated. No words, photos, or movies can capture the grandeur of the Falls the way it does when you are actually standing near it, watching it, listening to it, and feeling the mist.

We did all the typical tourist things you're supposed to do, like taking the world famous Maid of the Mist boat ride which sails right into Horseshoe Falls and gets you soaking wet (everyone was given a raincoat). We also saw the falls from behind in another tour. The lights that shine on the waterfalls at night change hues constantly and gave the place an eerie kind of glow. Our room had a knockout view of the falls which turned out to be one of the best hotel stays of the trip.

We were lucky to have had a few outstanding accommodations on this adventure, and the mini-suite at Marriot Fallsview at Niagara Falls was one. St. Louis was another, Salt Lake City was another and our cabin at the Vee Bar Ranch was another. Yeah, we had our share of not-so-hot motel stopovers too, but it's all part of life on the road. Just like having to deal with the road work. Did I mention there was quite a lot of road work on this trip?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles