Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 8, 2010 / 30 Tishrei, 5771

Sir Paul the Insipid

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | In show biz sometimes all you have to do is live long enough and the honors and plaudits start rolling in. It helps if you were once a major rock star. It's even better if your politics happen to be left-leaning. And if you were once part of a pop phenomena, like the Beatles were for my generation, it's guaranteed. Paul McCartney fits quite nicely into all those categories so he is now getting honored all over the place.

He has already been knighted by the Queen of England. Not to be outdone, this past July the U.S. bestowed McCartney with the Library of Congress's Gershwin Prize for Popular Music which included a PBS-televised gala concert at the White House. You might remember his humble and charming remark on accepting the prize at the White House affair when he said, "After the last eight years it's great to have a president who knows what a library is." What a gracious, classy guy. He comes to a country that is honoring him with an award and insults one of its former twice-elected presidents in his acceptance speech.

But we're not through worshiping Sir Paul yet. Now he has been chosen by the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts as one of the five recipients of their annual Lifetime Achievement Award to be presented at the Kennedy Center, which will also be taped and broadcast on PBS sometime around the Christmas holidays. So is this it, or are there more American honors we can bestow on McCartney?

When will he be receiving the Congressional Medal of Honor? How about an honorary Academy Award for his lifetime achievements in the art of motion pictures? How could anyone forget "Help," "Hard Days Night" or "Yellow Submarine?" Three of my all time favorite movie classics.

Maybe there is a presidential high-level office he can be appointed to, like maybe becoming the National Endowment of the Arts Czar. We might create a new cabinet post, like the chief of the Department of Homeland Music. Oh, wait a minute, McCartney is a citizen of another country, I forgot.

There already is a Secretary of State, but considering McCartney's prior experiences, we might dub him the Secretary of Altered State. I wonder if he still talks with Ravi Shankar?

I know what you're saying, "Come on, Greg, you're ignoring his enormous contributions to the world of music! Okay, then, let's go over the tunes. It would be unfair of me to name only the nonsense like "Rocky Raccoon," "Ob-La-Di-Ob-La-Da," "Maxwell's Silver Hammer," and "She Came in Through the Bathroom Window" so let's skip those and get right to the big important stuff.

The Best of Paul McCartney might include the following: "Hey Jude," "Yesterday," "Let It Be," "Michelle," "Helter Skelter," "Penny Lane," "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band," "Maybe I'm Amazed," and "Band on the Run." Which of those would you describe as a song for the ages, in the same league as the best of Gershwin, Porter, or Irving Berlin?

Most of the so-called "serious" tunes of McCartney run the gamut from vapid, sappy and uninspired, to meaningless, incomprehensible and shallow. Does anyone know what "Hey Jude" is all about? And does it get any triter than "Michelle, my belle" or any more sophomoric than "Yesterday?" Remember, these are considered his best efforts. I admit there's a place in our world for bubble gum, teenie-bopper music like McCartney's, just don't give out prestigious awards for it.

And then we turn to the performance of the man. Be honest. As a singer and pure entertainer would you really put him in the same category as Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra, or even Elvis Presley? Are his contributions to popular music on an equal par with Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Artie Shaw or Benny Goodman? What really has McCartney brought to the party of any consequence either in the writing of music or the performance of it?

Excuse me if I don't gush enthusiastic over Paul McCartney, but I just don't think the guy ever had the goods. To bestow serious honors on him is to diminish the talents of the true giants of 20th Century popular music. But that's what happens when the really great people are all gone but the need still exists to find someone to honor so that you can have a gala award show to televise on PBS.

"Ob-La-Di-Ob-La-Da, life goes on, Bra! La-La how the life goes on."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles