Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct 13, 2011 / 15 Tishrei, 5772

Vee Bar Ranch

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | One of the highlights of our recent road trip was the three days we spent at the Vee Bar Ranch in Wyoming. We've stayed at guest ranches in the past and just about all of them were memorable and fun, but the Vee Bar is something quite special. Think of words like "rejuvenate," "gorgeous," and "peaceful" mixed with phrases like "God's country," "back to basics," and "made to feel like family," and you start to get the idea of what this place is like.

To begin with, the location is nothing short of spectacular. Located just 20 miles outside of Laramie the ranch is at the foot of the Snowy Range Mountains with the Little Laramie River running right through the center of it. As a matter of fact, the river ran right in front of our cabin. The ranch is so perfect looking and beautiful it almost doesn't seem real. Cabins have just the right balance of western flavor with clean, modern amenities. Comfortable and cozy inside with full bath and gas-fired potbellied stoves. Outside large Adirondack chairs allow you to relax on the porch facing the river. Talk about unwinding.

The historic ranch is over one hundred years old and the original ranch lodge is still being used to this day. The ranch has served as a cattle and horse operation as well as a stage coach stop, post office, and freight line to local mines. It was even a bison ranch for a time. The family still runs cattle on it today and summer guests can even try their hand at herding with the wranglers.

Ranch actives range from fly fishing, to water rafting to hiking, but the horseback riding is what I came for and it's really what the Vee Bar is noted for. Each morning the horses are brought back down to the barn and corral area from the open meadows where they spent the night. Watching these beautiful animals running in a herd is a sight like no other. Jane and I quickly finished our breakfast and made it down to the side of the road just so we could see them run past.

Summer season was over by the time we arrived at the ranch and it was way too early for the winter season so for the first two days of our stay we practically had the place to ourselves. Our wrangler, Dan, was the perfect cowboy for us. He knew horses, he knew the ranch, and he had an easy comfortable way about him, unusual for a young man in his early twenties. He really became our friend, as a matter of fact Jane got a bit teary when we were saying our good-byes.

Our rides were fantastic. The first day Jane went along with me as Dan led us through some beautiful country and tree-shaded trails. We saw a family of bald eagles, an antelope, a large cotton-tailed rabbit, and a crazy woodpecker all on that first ride. The next day Dan took me up to the top of a high ridge that looked like a mesa and I had a view that was unbelievable. I also had the chance to lope across the pastures a bit, something I hadn't done in years. It was wonderful.

Thanks to ranch cook, Dale Jensen, food was delicious and plentiful. We're still talking about his French toast, which was like no other French toast we have ever had. The ranch had a Vee Bar Ranch Recipes Cookbook for sale that Dale wrote with Jana Wilson. You can be sure Jane didn't leave without buying a copy.

Like Dan, Dale was solicitous and watched over us during our time at the ranch. At the John Wayne Saloon one evening, Jane and I were alone in there having a drink and shooting a little eight ball when Dan came in to say hello and ask if everything was okay. He stayed a little while, we talked, laughed, and then he left. Then, sometime later, Dale came in and asked if there was anything that we needed. We said no, we were just fine, but he went behind the bar and poured out a bowl of trail mix for us to enjoy with our drinks. He set the bowl down and quietly left us. Those guys didn't have to go out of their way like that to see that we were comfortable, but they did. And that, along with the beautiful country, was what made the ranch so special.

We would have liked to have stayed longer, but we had to be on our way. After three weeks on the road we were anxious to get back home and we still had a long way to drive. Maybe one day we'll get back. Until then, we have memories of a beautiful place and good people that we will never forget.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles