Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 30, 2010 / 22 Tishrei, 5771

What's News?

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Reading the newspaper this week (which is fast becoming something of a novelty in itself for most Americans) I ran across several articles that I'd like to share with you. I like to think that I'm actually performing a little civic service in this way. I know sometimes our busy lives can become quite hectic, what with the new school year just beginning, early Halloween shopping, and Dancing with the Stars starting a new season you may not have had the time to keep up with current events. Here are a few you might have missed.

Remember the thieving politicians from the little city of Bell, California who were found to be stealing public money through bloated salaries and pension plans for themselves? Well, they were arrested and taken to jail in handcuffs this past week, all eight of them from the mayor on down. L.A. County District Attorney Steve Cooley called what they did, "corruption on steroids." This story has been reported on for many weeks now, ever since it was brought to light by The Los Angeles Times. I wrote about it myself back in early August.

But get this: up to this point every major news outlet that has reported on the story has left out the fact that ALL EIGHT OF THE INDIVIDUALS ATTRESTED WERE DEMOCRATS! ABC, CBS, Los Angeles Times, the Associated Press, Bloomberg, USA Today, CNN, MSNBC, NPR, and the San Francisco Chronicle all reported on the arrest story without mentioning party affiliations of the crooks.

If these eight crooks had been Republicans do you think the media might have mentioned that little fact? Oh, maybe not more than every single chance they got. I love the fair and balanced media.

In other news, I saw two short articles on separate pages of the paper this week-end. One story took place in Los Angeles with the headline, "Several shot, stabbed after birthday party." The other unrelated article three pages over had the headline: "Man rejected by partygoers shoots five, kills 1 in N.J." What are they giving out as party favors these days, Glocks? In the old days people went to a party and maybe got a little bombed; now they're getting shot. Invited to a party? Better stay home, I think.

Moving along to the People's Republic of San Francisco, there is a proposed new law which would ban toy giveaways with fast-food meals. The proposal would make it illegal for kids' meals to come with toys if the meals exceed limits on calories, fat, sugar, and salt. It would also require meals to include a half-cup of fruit and three-quarters of a cup of vegetables. No more toys in the McDonald Happy Meals? Leave it to the progressives to make sure kids don't actually have any fun at all.

I know, I know, they just want to make us all very healthy. Well, excuse me, but its none of the government's business, or shouldn't be, what people are eating. Parents are the ones who should decide on what their kids eat, what their kids read, what their kids watch, and what their kids worship - not Big Brother government.

I couldn't wait to find my toy surprise in the box of Cracker Jack and in the boxes of breakfast cereals. And that was just last week. But now the government wants to make it against the law. They want to force kids to eat carrots. As a kid I ate carrots and I ate Cracker Jack. How much of each one I consumed at any given time was up to my parents, not the government.

This is just one of the latest dietary restrictions happening all over the country. You may have heard that it is now against the law for New York Restaurants to cook with salt. That's right, using salt in recipes is banned.

In bad financial times like these one takes enjoyment where one can afford it. Most of us can't afford to buy hundred dollar tickets to pro basketball games. Lots of us can't afford Broadway shows. Even a night at the movies for a family of four can be an enormous expense. Having an order of French fries or a cookie is a small pleasure. I'm not saying you eat them at every meal, like all things moderation is the key.

Here's the deal - after government fixes our economy, secures our borders, and cuts back on wasteful spending, then we can talk about my Happy Meal toy.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles