Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 28, 2011 / 29 Elul, 5771

Taking Issue with Popular Speech

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Do you have issues with your co-workers? Do you have issues with your teenage daughter? Do you have issues with your used car? Do you have issues with your weight? We have issues at our house, too. I have issues of National Geographic Magazine; my wife has issues of Town and Country Magazine. All of our issues are piled on the bookshelf. We have problems with things from time to time, but our issues are limited to magazines.

It irritates me to hear people using the word "issue" when what they really mean is "problem." Just say you've got some problems with your car, is that so hard? "We have a few minor problems with our teenager." Problem is the perfect word to use to describe….well, a problem. Save "issue" for an important topic for debate or resolution. The issue at hand. An issue of law. An issue of fact. At issue under discussion. Issue is the perfect word for something that is distributed for use. "I was issued a new driver's license," or "he was issued an army uniform."

How about this for a sentence? "The issue at hand, is that the driver's license I was issued is incorrect, so now I've got issues with the DMV."

Using issue for problem as in, "I've got to learn to deal with my issues," is one of those psycho-babble, feely/touchy, new-age phrases like "I feel your pain." Hearing the word issue used that way gives ME a pain, if you know what I mean.

I don't think they teach grammar in school anymore. Elementary school used to be called grammar school because that's where you went to learn grammar. Actually I just made that up, but it sounds good doesn't it? The point is, speech is getting worse and worse with each succeeding generation. We have more ways today to communicate and our communication skills stink on ice.

Another completely irritating speech habit that more and more young people are picking up on is the over-use of the word "basically." As in, "I was basically going down to the mall to see if any of my friends were there. They were there, so we basically just hung out." Another lovely turn of phrase is the incorrect addition of the word "had." "I had used some lip gloss this morning." "We had went to the show last night." "He had came over to the house."

Then there is the ever popular made-up word, "boughten." "Her and I had boughten some stuff at the mall." Don't laugh; I have actually heard this being used by upper-middle class teens and college students. That's right folks, really bad English is not just for the foreigners and hillbillies anymore, it's now available and in common use by all.

There are some less educated among us who, for one reason or another, have never quite gotten the hang of using possessives in their speech. They drop the "s" off their words as if it to use it would be just too difficult. "I'm goin' to my mother house." "I'm gonna borrow my father car tonight." What is disturbing is that this way of speaking seems to be gaining in popularity by many young people who should know better. They just drop the possessive "s" in their sentences. Why anyone would purposely want to sound ignorant is baffling to me.

Okay, I have one more gripe and then I'll let you go. My last annoyance is not the misuse of a word, but the over-use of a gesture. Have you noticed when someone refers to using the telephone, they automatically put their hand up to their ear with the thumb and pinkie extended as if they are holding a phone? It's as if they are speaking to a person who doesn't understand what the words "call on the phone" means. This is a new thing and a lot of people are doing it now.

You never see anyone pantomiming closing a door or lifting up a window or driving a car, but when they say "I'll call you tomorrow," they pantomime an invisible telephone in their hand. I don't get it and it irritates me. That's right; you might say I have a real issue with that, basically.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles