Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 21, 2012/ 6 Tishrei, 5773

Life Isn't Equal

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The egalitarian Leftists are always concerned with trying to make everybody equal. Equal pay, equal housing, equal education, equal rights, equal healthcare, equal underpants, whatever. The problem with this utopian ideal is that people are born inherently UNequal. Some people are naturally good-looking, some are plain, and some are pug-ugly. Some people are naturally intelligent, some are stupid. Some people have a natural gift for music or art or mathematics, some don't. Inequality is universal and natural.

You might attempt to force certain equalities into society, as unnatural as they might be, such as the ridiculous idea that men and women are equal beings in every way except for their private parts, but ultimately this sort of social engineering will backfire. Men and women are hardwired differently. Sooner or later boys will be boys and girls will be girls. Think about it. How many men do you know who wait for the yearly shoe sales at Saks? How many women organize their time around the televised football schedules?

Similarly you can't create laws that will turn unambitious people into ambitious ones anymore than you can legislate equal creativity and talent amongst all people. Some got it, some don't got it. Not everyone can be a Steve Jobs or a Walt Disney. Not too many of us can be a Bing Crosby or a Fred Astaire or a Pablo Picasso. We all can sing, we can all dance and we all can paint, but that doesn't mean we're very good at it.

Besides the G0d-given gifts some of us are born with, there is the element of luck too. Some are lucky to born into rich or influential families. Some people are lucky to be blessed with good health, some are not. Serendipity can make all the difference in one's future. Good timing, being in the right place at the right time and meeting the right person all play a part in happiness and success. There's no way to ensure that all people will have equal luck in life.

But the egalitarian just can't or won't accept that when all is said and done, life isn't fair, not everything can be equal. Everybody can't be rich. Everybody can't be gorgeous. Everybody can't be wonderful in all ways. And not all cultures are decent and good. Some cultures do evil, their values are inside out. Some people are pure evil, they can't be turned around, they can't be fixed, they are defective. As Sinatra once sang, that's life. For better or worse that's life, but there are those that can't come to grips with it.

If life was fair and equal then I wouldn't have been born with a predisposition for a spare tire around my middle, a receding hairline, and loose skin. I'm not complaining, just explaining. If life was equal I'd have the same number of cars that Jay Leno has. I'd be able to dance my wife around the floor like Fred and Ginger. I'd be able to walk into a room like Cary Grant. If life was fair and equal I would be inventing the next "got-to-have" electronic gismo.

If life was fair and equal I'd have great health up until the day I die, which would be well into my late nineties and I would pass quietly, easily, in my sleep in my own bed and with my love ones nearby.

The trick to living this here life isn't to look around and decide that others may have better than you have and then try to take it away from them so that "everyone will be equal." The trick is to know your own strengths and abilities and to develop them to their maximum potential. Being the best person you can be is the ultimate revenge. To "count your blessings," as the song says, and take happiness as it comes.

The ones who want to take from others, the ones who demand equality in all things to all are not very happy people in my estimation. They will never be totally at peace because everything will never be equal to all. What we have in this country is equal access to "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness." The guarantee isn't that we all will be happy; it's that we all have the freedom to pursue our goals toward happiness. A very different thing.

One other thought. If everything is equal then nothing is outstanding. There is no better or best, it's all mediocre. And when an attempt is made to make something equal, it invariably means that the quality level goes down to the lowest common denominator. Do you think that if all medical care is equal that it will be of the highest quality? Or doesn't that matter to you? Does equality trump quality for you? If it does, than congratulations… you are an egalitarian. Welcome to Fantasyland.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast