Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 19, 2013/ 15 Tishrei, 5774

Read at Your Own Risk

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Warning! The following column contains material some readers may find objectionable due to its politically incorrect nature. Some comments and/or observations may be considered socially unacceptable in today's uber-progressive society. DO NOT READ THIS if (a) you tend to be non-judgmental of anyone, anytime and for any reason, (b) you embrace multicultural egalitarianism, (c) you hold hypersensitive liberal beliefs, (d) you think that The New York Times is a truthful and unbiased source for news, or (e) you have no sense of humor or irony whatsoever. Otherwise, continue reading at your own risk. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

People are NOT all created equal. When it comes to natural attributes and talents there are some people who are blessed with abilities which give them a leg up on the rest of us. If you were born with a head for numbers and higher mathematics comes easily to you, then you probably will do better with money and finance than others will. If you happen to be born uncommonly great looking, have a natural stage presence, a desire to perform, and can commit many pages of dialogue to memory easily then you have a better chance at becoming a working movie actor than do most others.

I believe some people are natural athletes. Tall people are better basketball players, little people are better jockeys. Some people have natural talents for business, or the stock market, or law, or medicine, or politics. Unfortunately for me I have no natural abilities in any of the major areas that might have brought me wealth and power, but there are a few small things I know I am fairly good at. One is an ear for language.

One observation of mine is that different people speak English differently. That's right, we're not allowed to say things like this anymore, but I am saying it anyway. It might come as a shock to those who don't think it is possible for different people to speak differently, but they do and that's all there is to it. Some may believe it is an improper thing to point out discrepancies in speech among different ethnicities of people. I just think it's really interesting. I am no scientist or speech expert so I can't explain why certain people talk a certain way; I only know what I hear.


Okay, I know you're waiting for examples, so here we go. Take a simple sentence like, "Move your furniture out of the house." I've noticed that Asian immigrants to America (people who used to be called Orientals) who say that phrase tend to eliminate the word, "the." Their sentence becomes, "Move your furniture out of house." I'm guessing that it might have something to do with the word structure of their native language, Chinese, Japanese, or whatever.

Now take that same sentence and apply it to another group of people, African Americans. In that instance a different word is eliminated, the word "of." The sentence then becomes, "Move your furniture out the house." In this case it has nothing to do with being an immigrant or being uneducated since this sentence structure is common to many contemporary blacks of varying economic backgrounds.

But why does one culture eliminate the "the" word, and another culture eliminate the "of" word? I'm sure there must be a reason, but I don't know what it is. Interesting, no? And that would be another cultural difference brought to us by the Latin languages, adding the word "no" to the end of a question. Instead of "Do you like me a little?' it becomes, "You like me a little, no?" I've noticed that this way of speaking has seeped into the American populace at large. It is very common now to hear people say things like, "Do you want to have more ice cream or no?" instead of, "Do you want to have more ice cream or not?"

Jewish immigrants from Central and Eastern European countries used to mangle up the English language to the point of hilarity with sentences such as "Throw Mama from the train a kiss" and "How's by you?" The Irish, Italians, Scots, they all had their dialects and cadences. And it was those dialects that were parodied on the vaudeville stage more than a hundred years ago. The parodies weren't considered hate crimes. It was all in fun and most people back then got that.

But this is 2013 and we're not supposed to make fun of dialects, let alone mention them at all as I have this week in my column. There are differences in the way people speak, I didn't make that up, it's the way it is. Just sayin'. If this column bothers you, well, you can't say that you weren't warned ahead of time.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast