Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 16, 2011 / 17 Elul, 5771

The Public Good

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It amazes me that so many actually believe that it is the nasty, evil conservatives that want to make laws which will restrict personal freedoms. Of course this is nonsense and it always was. It is the so-called liberal, progressive faction of our society that is passing new laws, initiating new programs, and in general trying to "change" things, which really means increasing the size and scope of government which by definition, limits personal liberties.

The general rule of thumb is this; conservatives want less government involvement in our lives, progressives want more government control. That's it. The idea (initiated by those on the left) that it is those old, crusty, rich, conservative white men that are keeping everyone else down and depriving the majority of people in this country of their liberty and their chance at "the American dream" has been the big lie over the past 75 years or so. Propagating this fallacy is the way for the left to grow government control of all citizens.

Just look around. Over the course of the last three or four decades we Americans have far less personal liberties than ever. More laws mean less choice. Just in my lifetime I have seen my society become ever and ever more restrictive. Our public parks have outlawed playground see-saws and other traditional playground equipment. Kids cannot ride in the front seat of their parents' automobiles, they must be in backseat car restraints. No more bicycle riding without a helmet.

There are laws against "hate speech" and "hate crimes." Laws against bringing peanut butter sandwiches to school. There is less freedom of speech today than any other time in our history. Beginning in 1974, for the first time in American history, amendments have made it illegal in some circumstances for Americans to publish their opinions about candidates for election.

There is censorship through broadcast licensing, where government agencies tell broadcasters what they can and cannot air. And for more than 25 years, government has required businesses and educational institutions to punish speech that can be characterized as "hostile environment" harassment.

Tobacco was an easy target and a great excuse for government regulation. No smoking in public places, not on the beach nor in parks nor on public sidewalks. A man can't light his pipe after dinner and take a walk around the block anymore, it is against the law. If you want to smoke your pipe, do it behind closed doors and those doors had better not be in an apartment building with connecting walls, either. The reasoning for these things is always the same, "it is for the public good." In other words, you people are too stupid to know what's good for you, so government will step in and tell you how to live.

The environmentalist "eco-friendly" movement has been a boon to growing government restrictions. In some places no new housing will be built that has attached, wood-burning chimneys and there are new laws pending to stop people from using their fireplaces in the winter completely. You see, burning wood is contributing to global warming and environmental pollution.

Government will mandate what kind of cars we will be allowed to own, what kind of heating we can use in our homes, what kind of food we will be allowed to eat, what kind of energy and how much of it we can use, what kind of medical care we can have - all in the name of "the public good." Within three years the old incandescent light bulbs (the ones we've all been using since Edison invented them 130 years ago) will be gone.

Under federal law, incandescent bulbs are being phased out beginning next year when American manufacturers no longer will be allowed to make 100-watt bulbs. By Jan. 1, 2014, the only incandescents left on the market will be three-way bulbs, plant lights and some appliance lamps. When was the last time you tried to buy a 100-watt bulb? Try finding a package in the stores today, they're not around anymore. Soon it will be LEDs or florescence or nothing.

Today it is light bulbs; tomorrow it could be …who knows what? Maybe printed books. Books use made from paper, right? We're destroying trees to make books, that can't be environmentally healthy. We must pass laws to make the manufacturing of paper books a crime. The only books allowed will be electronic books such as Kindle, it is already happening, even without a federal law.

For the first time, Amazon.com reported that e-book sales surpassed those of paperback and hardback books combined. For every 100 traditional print books sold, 105 Kindle books are bought. Publishers of traditional books are getting scared. Since the tide is going in that directon anyway, it is only a matter of time before big government steps in and outlaws the printed book once and for all…"for the public good."

Ask yourself where these laws are coming from, the progressive leftists, or the conservatives? Big government is on the march. Wake up.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles