Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 16, 2013/ 10 Elul, 5773

This is Only a Test

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Okay readers, no comments on politics, current culture, or my opinion on anything else this week. I'm giving you all the week off. Tell your brain you're taking a break. After all, everyone needs a bit of summertime relaxation in order to unwind and decompress, even columnists. So in keeping with the lazy days of August, I've come up with a little silly test for you to take.

Don't worry; I won't be grading you on this test. It won't be a part of your permanent record and there won't be any humiliating points to count up at the end. It's just for fun. And there's no time limit; take the whole week to work on this if you need to. Heck, take the whole rest of the summer, what do I care? I call it Crosby's Famous Advertising Slogan Test. Read the following ad lines and see if you can name the companies that go with each slogan. Try not to peek at the answers until the end. Ready, Set . . . Go!

1. It's the only way to fly.

2. See what brown can do for you.

3. We make money the old-fashioned way. We earn it.

4. Don't leave home without it.

5. I've fallen and I can't get up!

6. Tastes great, less filling.

7. Fair and balanced.

8. I'm not a doctor but I play one on TV.

9. Can you hear me now?

10. It's not nice to fool Mother Nature.

11. Leave the driving to us.

12. Where's the beef?

13. It's everywhere you want to be.

14. You deserve a break today.

15. Betcha can't eat just one.

16. We're Number Two. We try harder.

17. I can't believe I ate the whole thing.

18. Put a tiger in your tank.

19. It's the real thing.

20. Must-see TV

21. Zoom zoom.

22. We will sell no wine before it's time.

23. Think different.

24. A diamond is forever.

25. Babies are our business, our only business.

26. Just do it!

27. Just say no.

28. We'll leave a light on for you.

29. It keeps going, and going, and going.

30. Stronger than dirt.

31. Take it off, take it all off.

32. Where do you want to go today?

33. Have it your way.

34. You are now free to move about the country.

35. Builds strong bodies twelve ways.


Answers: 1.Western Airlines; 2. UPS; 3. Smith Barney brokerage; 4. American Express credit card; 5. LifeCall emergency alert devices; 6. Miller beer; 7. Fox News; 8.Vick's cough syrup; 9. Verizon Wireless cell service; 10. Chiffon margarine; 11. Greyhound Bus Lines; 12. Wendy's restaurants; 13. Visa credit card; 14. McDonald's restaurants; 15. Lay's potato chips; 16. Avis car rentals; 17. Alka-Seltzer antacid; 18. Esso gasoline; 19. Coca-Cola soda; 20. NBC television network; 21. Mazda automobiles; 22. Paul Mason wines: 23. Apple computers; 24. De Beers mining; 25. Gerber baby food; 26. Nike athletic shoes; 27. Advertising Council antidrug campaign; 28. Motel 6; 29. Energizer batteries; 30. Ajax laundry detergent; 31. Noxzema shaving cream; 32. Microsoft; 33. Burger King; 34. Southwest Airlines; 35. Wonder Bread.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast