Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 13, 2010 / 3 Elul, 5770

It's a Woman's World

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Let's get one thing straight, I don't hate women. Honestly I don't. I am happily married to a woman of whom I love completely. I love my sister and we get along great. I've loved my mother all my life and we always got along fine. Some of my best friends are women. Women have worked for me and I've worked for them. I have hired women and I have worked side by side with women. I don't have a problem with women …usually. Okay, I don't like pushy women, but I don't like pushy men either. I don't like bullies whichever sex they happen to be. In general, though, I don't hate women. Remember that as you read my following comments.

Having entered my sixth decade on earth, I have noticed that the world has changed dramatically just in my lifetime. It is no longer a man's world, it is most definitely a women's world now. With the possible exception of sports, almost all of our daily life is geared towards women. Stores, products, entertainment, food, hotels, culture - most of it designed for female tastes.

More women are in politics than ever before and the likelihood that I will see a woman president of the United States in my lifetime is not only possible, it is probable. It almost happened last time, and it might very well happen next time.

Women are at the top of major corporations in a big way. There are women CEO's in every kind of business imaginable from entertainment, to publications, to consumer products, to electronics, to computers to fashion to… well, everything and anything. When Mark Hurd, the head of Hewlett-Packard, was forced to resign recently, the company chose Chief Financial Officer Cathie Lesjak as interim CEO. The old complaint that women just can't get to the top of a company is not true anymore.

A study by the Royal College of Physicians last year found that the number of female doctors will be more than that of male doctors within the next few years. In article after article magazines such as Business Week and Time have published reports on how the growing ranks of women doctors are transforming the medical profession. About half of all law students today are women. Currently more than 40% of all practicing attorneys are women. And the number of women in the clergy continues to increase.

More young women enter college and universities today than do young men. School curriculums are slanted more to the female student in English departments and other liberal arts departments than ever before. Women are graduating with higher degrees and in greater numbers than are men. It stands to reason, then, that in the future the better jobs will be going to women.

The point is, the women's liberation movement has worked. Opportunities for women continue to increase with each year. The way the world thinks is more in tune with female thinking than it is male now, which is a big change from centuries of history. What does this mean for men? With the women taking over, what will the role be for men in the future? Maybe just as laborers, like the worker ants. Not too many girls want to go into ditch digging, roofing, or garbage collecting.

The traditional local news broadcasts used to feature one male and one female as co-anchors. Lately I'm seeing some stations with TWO women anchors! What's that all about? Most of the reporters in the field now are women and most of the news reporters on radio are women. Women announcers on TV and on radio are much more prevalent than are men. I miss those deep masculine voices. Voices that actually pronounced the words clearly and correctly.

As I said, I don't hate women but I do wonder what the future will be for the new young men coming up. It seems so much of what used to be normal is no longer normal. Centuries and centuries of traditions are being erased and altered. Maybe I'm just getting old, but it does appear to be happening at an accelerated rate. Women are doing what used to be the man's role and men are doing whatever women don't want to do, I guess. Is this a good thing? Only the future will know for sure.

But I don't hate women. Honest.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles