Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 9, 2013/ 3 Elul, 5773

The Return of Cranky Man

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Remember the Serenity Prayer?

G0D grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

Wonderful words to live by. But notice it says nothing about grousing. Cranky Man accepts the things he cannot change but he reserves the right to grouse about them whenever he darn well pleases. This would be one of those times. Grouse along with me, if you dare, as I list some recent annoyances of mine.

Let's start with baseball. I wish I could understand what the "punishment" is to New York Yankee Alex Rodriguez. Major League Baseball has suspended him for the rest of this season and all of next season for "his use and possession of numerous forms of prohibited performance-enhancing substances, including testosterone and human growth hormone over the course of multiple years."

His punishment under the labor contract was "for attempting to cover up his violations of the program by engaging in a course of conduct intended to obstruct and frustrate the office of the commissioner's investigation." But get this - even though he has been suspended HE CONTINUES TO PLAY AND RAKE IN HIS MILLIONS! Why? Because he has decided to fight it. He is allowed to continue to play baseball with his team (and be paid his huge salary) until the matter is resolved. How long will his appeals drag this thing out? Could it go on indefinitely? Punishment? What a joke.

If the majority of my fellow baseball fans still had a semblance of scruples and high moral values they would boo this guy whenever he came to bat at every stadium in the country. They would stop buying any apparel and souvenirs with his name on them. They would write letters of protest; they would throw back any balls he hits into the stands. I doubt they will.


Sadly, we live in a time when too many have lost their moral compass. Cheaters are no longer shunned, that would be judgmental and we never want to be judgmental. Winning is everything, to hell with playing it straight, to hell with the rules, to hell with your teammates, just do what you need to do to win for yourself. It's all about winning and it's all about selfishness. I love baseball but the narcissistic attitude of players like Rodriguez sickens me.

Turning now from baseball bums to speed bumps. Yes sir, speed bumps are another lovely invention of modern society. So many residential streets I drive down these days have been mutilated with these kidney-rattling speed bumps. The idea is to slow down drivers that are going too fast down these streets, I get it. What I don't get, is how come we didn't need speed bumps for the first seventy years or so since cars were invented? Speed bumps have only been in common usage on public roads for the last 30 years or so, and more and more of them are being created with each passing year.

I don't like speed bumps, but okay, I'll go along with them if they keep jerks from driving like maniacs down residential streets. The problem is, they don't work. Idiots in jacked-up trucks with big tires just sail right over them with no problem. Other morons in expensive cars who just don't care ignore the bumps too.

What then has been the cities' answer to this? More speed bumps, of course. Some streets even have a combination of speed bumps with speed humps (humps being slightly lower speed bumps). And when that doesn't work, they add "dips" into the streets as well. But what do we do when the bumps and humps and dips still can't stop the speeding drivers? Only one thing left…speed cliffs. That's right, dig deep ditches into the street, sharp drops that will actually work because the cars will fall into the abyss and never be seen again. That not only gets rid of the speeding car, it gets rid of the idiot driving the speeding car. That just might work. Try it, Los Angeles.

I don't have a clever way of segueing into my next gripe, so I'll just say, on to a completely different subject. The use of initials instead of words is getting really irritating to me. I guess it started many years ago by the government. FBI, CIA, and IRS are the most common examples and we all know what they stand for. But DOJ, DHS, DOE, and others do not instantly register. Is it really so hard to just say Department of Justice, Department of Homeland Security or Department of Education?

Now everyone is jumping on the initial bandwagon and I don't have a clue what most of these letters mean when I hear them. Sometimes I can figure them out if I really want to take the time to think about it, but why not just say the damn words in the first place so we can all understand. Maladies, illnesses, and diseases no longer use words, and I'm supposed to know what ADHD, ADD-RT, CHADD, IBS, and STD's are? And you know that big drug store chain, CVS? What do those initials stand for? Make up your own joke.

Cranky Man over and out.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast