Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 5, 2011 / 5 Menachem-Av, 5771

Heroes

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The word "hero" is freely used today, so much so that it has become a trite catchphrase in the same way that anything that is remotely famous is now automatically called an "icon" or the way that the designation of "star" is given to almost any 20-something actor who has appeared in more than two movies.

Hero has its roots in mythological Greek heroes such as Hercules, legendary characters with superhuman powers. That kind of hero has been reincarnated in our folklore and popular fiction. Comic books, television, and movies have created heroes by the dozens; Robin Hood, the Lone Ranger, Flash Gordon, Superman, Indiana Jones, X-Men, etc.

We have our sports heroes; men who play ball well, drive cars fast, or shoot hoops a lot. And movie heroes; men who look good as they pretend to be brave and honorable up on a movie screen. Pop culture figures are certainly stars, but do they really qualify as heroes? Does acting talent or physical ability by and of itself equal heroism?

To my way of thinking, a hero is a special person, a person worthy of admiration and respect and the word should be reserved for those who have truly earned it. A hero is first and foremost brave. You can add honor and virtue into the mix as well. And I want to put selflessness in there too. Physical strength can help, but it doesn't necessarily make one a hero. The hero possesses an inner strength that can't be perceived from the outside.

The true American hero is the man who quietly goes about doing the right thing. The right thing for his family, his country and his G0d. He is noble, but not in the way of having title or rank or aristocracy, but noble in having fine personal qualities and high moral standards. He doesn't expect (nor does he usually get) riches for what he does, that's not his motivation. It's not about himself; it's not about winning medals or loving cups, or winning any kind of awards. It's not even about winning per se. He does what he does because it is the good and right thing to do, period.

America is fortunate to have been blessed with millions of true American heroes though the years. Gentle, soft-spoken men who have risked life and limb to protect American liberties and way of life. They are all around us; they can be found standing behind us in line at the market, they might work in the next cubicle at our office, maybe they run a small business downtown, and many times they live just down the street. One such hero is William B. Mitchell.

Mr. Mitchell is a retired Commander in the US Navy. Born in Minnesota he came from a long line of proud newspapermen. When things started to heat up in the world, he joined the Navy in 1940 and served in both World War II and in Korea. His service included duty on battleships and destroyers throughout the Pacific Theater, including the USS Halloran and the USS Crane. He saw plenty of action in Okinawa and Iwo Jima, including a kamikaze attack when his ship, the USS Halloran, was hit killing several crew members.

After the war with Japan was won, Commander Mitchell retired from active duty but was called back when Korea began. After Korea, he stayed in service as a reservist on call until 1977 when he finally retired from the Navy.

I had the honor of meeting Commander Mitchell and his wife, Lorraine, recently at their home in Burbank, California. The same house they have been living in for decades, where they raised their three kids. They are the parents of my sister Debra's good friend, Melissa. I knew Melissa, but had never met her mom and dad until just last week.

I sat and chatted with the Mitchells for a time, and then Commander Mitchell took me into his office and shared some of his service memories with me. As he spoke proudly but humbly of his time in the US Navy, my eyes scanned the citations, ribbons, medals and photos which graced the wall over his desk. There were personal letters, newspaper clippings, and commendations signed by the Secretary of the Navy. This was the first time I ever met a serviceman who had received the Bronze Star. It was a great honor for me and something I will never forget.

The Criteria for receiving The Bronze Star are as follows:

"The Bronze Star Medal is awarded to any person who, while serving in any capacity in or with the military of the United States after 6 December 1941, distinguished himself or herself by heroic or meritorious achievement or service, not involving participation in aerial flight, while engaged in an action against an enemy of the United States; while engaged in military operations involving conflict with an opposing foreign force; or while serving with friendly foreign forces engaged in an armed conflict against an opposing armed force in which the United States is not a belligerent party."

Did you catch that key word? Heroic. I don't know if Commander Mitchell was ever any good at playing baseball. I doubt whether he ever acted in a movie. And I don't think he was ever able to leap tall buildings in a single bound, but one thing I am absolutely sure of - Commander William B. Mitchell is a real American hero.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles