Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 30, 2010 / 19 Menachem-Av, 5770

Taking Issue With . . .

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I need for you to read this column. No, that's not true. I'd LIKE you to read this column. I don't NEED FOR YOU to read this column. Have you noticed that everyone is "needing" these days? "I need for you to clean up your room." "I need for you to call me on Friday." What was wrong with simply saying, "Clean up your room" or "Please call me on Friday?" It's all about "needs" now. Using "need" is bad enough, but adding the word "for" after it just makes this cant phrase even worse.

Worse yet is the addition of the words, "for me" at the end of a request. If someone says, "I need for you to take a deep breath for me" it sounds like he's asking another person to breathe for him when really what is meant is, "please take a deep breath." Speaking that way obscures the meaning of what you're trying to communicate.

All this "needing" and "for me" business has came from New Age "I'm okay, you're okay" therapy culture. It's the same personal-growth philosophy that has taken away other easy to understand terms and replaced them with feel-good obscure cants. We don't have problems or difficulties anymore; we have "issues." A difficulty is something to be overcome. A problem is something to solve. But an issue is something to ponder or discuss, ideally in a group therapy session with sandalwood incense burning and Kenny G playing in the background.

This past week I had nothing but grief with my computer. But when my computer doesn't operate properly I don't have "issues" with it, I have problems with it. If I have problems with my computer, I have to have it fixed. But having "issues" with my computer sounds like my computer and I should be sitting down together to discuss how best to continue our relationship.

When we lose a loved one or something else of a negative nature occurs in our lives, we now look for "closure." Closure is another New Age term. What did we do before we had "closure?" I guess we just had to deal with whatever it was that happened to us, take a deep breath, and go on with our lives. Or as the old song said, "Pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again." Now we look for closure.

Kids aren't told that they're doing wrong anymore; they are told that they are "behaving inappropriately." To say that they are doing wrong is, God forbid, making a value judgment, and we certainly don't want to do that, do we? There is no right or wrong, there is just appropriate and inappropriate. Wrong is strong, you don't ever won't to do wrong. Inappropriate is kind of wispy, a behavioral choice. And certainly non-judgmental.

It's not only the therapists that sabotage our language; the media has their sticky fingers in it too. A case in point is the word "iconic." Have you noticed lately that everything has become iconic? It has become the hot new word. Marilyn Monroe is described as an iconic movie star. Coca Cola is an iconic soft drink. "Time" is an iconic newsmagazine. A painting of Jesus on wood is an iconic icon.

World-wide has become global. The Orient has become Asia. England was always Britain, of course, but until recent years we mostly called it England and its citizens English. Now it's Britain and "the Brits" more often than not.

And the word "community" is tacked onto any and all groups. If we speak of all people in the world, it's the global community. We don't speak of Latin people or black people; we speak of The Latino community and the African-American community. As if everyone in those groups live in the same neighborhood. The label is applied to religions too - the Jewish Community, the Catholic community. The inference being that they all must think alike on any given subject.

Is there an obese community? Is there a media community? Is there a teenage community? Is there a senior citizen community? I mean besides Leisure World.

Well, that's about all I have this week. If there was anything about this column that you thought was inappropriate or if you have any issues with anything I said, then I need for you to write me. Just send your letter to me in care of the columnist community and I'll do my best to see that you get closure.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles