Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 29, 2011 / 27 Tamuz, 5771

Summer

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We've been lucky so far. We've had a relatively mild summer compared to the hellish heat waves that the east coast has had lately. Now as we ease into August, of course all bets are off. In Southern California anything can happen heat wave wise between now and November. We sort of skipped summer altogether last year so we've been pushing our luck. I don't mind warm summer days as long as they occur in the summer, not at Christmas, but spare me the drop-dead roasting triple-digit days that can drag on for weeks.

Summertime always brings me back to that wonderful sense of freedom - freedom from school, specifically the freedom from having to drag myself out of bed early every morning when mom or dad would rouse me. But ironically, it was in summer when I would awake at the earliest hours, and all by myself too. Not every day mind you, but once in awhile during the summer I loved to get up just before dawn, throw on my clothes and take a walk.

Everyone else was asleep, not only in my house but in the entire world, or so it seemed. The sensation of being the only one awake in the world was exciting to me. Everything felt fresh and clean. The air, crisp, cool, delicious, tasted sweet in my lungs. My hearing was more acute, my sight sharper. And the quiet. Oh, the quiet was terrific. It was my own special time of day, comforting and invigorating and a little decadent, I felt more alive than at any other time.

In the early 1960's it was still safe for an eleven or twelve-year-old kid to walk around alone at five or six in the morning in Burbank California. I walked through the neighborhood to where the stores were on Hollywood Way in Magnolia Park. I passed Babbitt's Nursery, Peggy Wood's pet shop, and the Blarney Stone restaurant along the route of my dawn patrol.

Traffic signals were only flashing, still too early to operate normally. No airplanes, no cars, and no joggers yet, not in those days. Just me and some birds respectfully chirping softly somewhere out of sight. I kept my eyes peeled for police patrol cars, I knew they wouldn't understand and would probably stop to question what a twelve-year-old boy was doing out alone at that hour. They never found me.

Summers were longer then. From June to September seemed like forever and that was fine by me. Back-To-School were the three little words I never wanted to hear. My summer days were filled with adventure; bike riding, playing with friends in the neighborhood, family trips, backyard Bar-B-Q, swimming, and staying up late. And there were days when I'd stay outside playing with my friends until dinner time.

I didn't mind the heat as much then. Maybe it's just easier for kids. Kids can be more flexible to many things that adults find hard to adapt to. In any case, Southern Cal summers are different than are summers in other places. Our hot days usually melt into balmy evenings and eventually cool nights. But when the occasional evening would just refuse to cool down, we sought relief at the Foster Freeze down the block or sometimes the A&W root beer stand.

Our house didn't have centralized air conditioning, but there was always a solution to the heat. Running through the sprinklers and drinking lemonade were two ways of dealing with it. Ice cream was another way we dealt with it. And ice cold watermelon was so refreshing, back when you could only get the melon with the black pits. I think watermelon tasted better then. I wonder if those pits had anything to do with it. But then, as clichéd as it sounds, all summer fruit tasted better back then. I haven't had a plum worth eating in years.

Thinking back, there seems to have been a lot of lolling around the house during the summer, too. That used to be called "relaxing." Are there any families that still do that, or is everyone too consumed with running around searching out new places to go to have fun? We used to have the majority of our "fun" at home. I have good memories of our family trips, but the bulk of my fond remembrances are the times at home with dad and mom and my brother and sister.

Summer hasn't been the same since I grew up. Has the world changed? Or is it simply that summer is really a child's season.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles