Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 23, 2010 / 12 Menachem-Av, 5770

Big Brother is Watching . . . Your Weight

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I know everyone was very busy this week following the important Lindsay Lohan court hearings so you might have missed a new little tidbit of news concerning (yet again) new federal regulations. Yes, surprise, surprise, the feds have snuck in another one on us! This time it has to do with our personal body weight. For years the cry has been, "I don't want the government in my bedroom!" Well, now you've got the government in your bathroom standing next to you by the bathroom scale.

The new federal regulations stipulate that the electronic health records--which all Americans are supposed to have by 2014 under the terms of the stimulus law that President Barack Obama signed last year--must record not only the traditional measures of height and weight, but also the Body Mass Index: a measure of obesity. That's right, the government is going to rate every American by his and her fatness. We will all have an official government "obesity rating."

So you better be good, you better not cry, you better stop eating cookies, cake and pie, government food sanctions are coming to town. This new obesity-rating regulation states that every single American's electronic health record must, and I quote, "Calculate body mass index. Automatically calculate and display body mass index (BMI) based on a patient's height and weight."

And the law also requires that these electronic health records be available--with appropriate security measures--on a national exchange. Get it? Anyone will be able to access this information on you. Your weight is no longer your own private business; it is now the government's business and anyone else who they'd like to share it with.

This is the first step in the government's goal of universal adoption of electronic health records by 2014 as outlined by Obama's 2009 economic stimulus law. Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius issued these new regulations last week along with Dr. David Blumenthal, the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology. Wow! How do you like those Orwellian job titles they have? Spooky. The regulations define the "meaningful use" of electronic records.

Under the stimulus law, health care providers--including doctors and hospitals--must establish "meaningful use" of electronic health records (EHR's) by 2014 in order to qualify for federal subsidies. After that, they will be subjected to penalties in the form of diminished Medicare and Medicaid payments for not establishing "meaningful use" of EHR's.

This mandate requires that all EHRs keep track of a person's Body Mass Index (BMI) score. Body Mass Index is a ratio between a person's weight and height, and is used to determine whether or not someone is overweight or obese. It is the preferred method of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) for measuring obesity. According to the CDC, "BMI provides a reliable indicator of body fatness for most people and is used to screen for weight categories that may lead to health problems."

As government gets bigger and bigger more and more regulations and mandates such as this will be issued over individuals. With every new regulation we lose a bit of our individual freedom. Step by step the government will gain total control until one day we wake up to find that we have lost our liberties completely.

Collecting personal information on us is a way for the feds to control the citizens. Big government may not care who and where the illegal aliens are in this country, but isn't it interesting just how much time and money is spent on collecting information on all of us legal citizens? It's all about control. It's all about power over the people.

Today the government is keeping tabs on your weight. They will be able to tell you if you are too fat based on their government mandates. Your weight to a great extent is determined by what you eat, so it is not far fetched to assume that one day the government will tell you what you can eat and what you cannot eat, period. It's already happening with local restrictions and various state laws with the trans-fat thing and forcing restaurants to include calorie counts on their menus.

I'm sorry, but if I want a double-double burger with fries, or a donut or a hot fudge sundae, I don't care what the calorie count is. I know it's fattening, leave me alone. And if there are grown-ups who don't know that these things are fattening, then they're way too stupid to read calorie counts anyway.

Hey big government, keep my boarders safe and secure. Maintain a strong military, take care of the interstate highways, and go after the bad guys who want to destroy my country. But stay the hell out of my bathroom and my kitchen. And don't tell me how much I should weigh. It's none of your business. My body does not belong to the state. Not yet.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles